Precious Moments

The other night I came across this sweet photo.

It was taken about 3 1/2 years ago. and it made me a little sad. Cause my little boy, isn’t that little baby anymore. And he never will be again.

I had to take a minute and recognize that every moment counts. When I’m frustrated with my kids because they are acting up, I have to remember that someday I’ll wish they were there to correct. When I’m worn out cause my house still isn’t clean, I have to remember that one day it will be perfectly clean, and I’ll wish the kids were there to mess it up a little. When I have spent an hour on kindergarten homework and I want to  scream, I have to remember that one day soon, my little guy will be in college and I’ll wish I could help him with his homework.

I realized something else. I want my kids to remember the now when they are grown. I don’t want them to remember that I was frustrated or worn out, I want their memories to be that we were happy, had lots of fun and looked at every day as an adventure. I want them to remember that they were loved, cherished, supported and encouraged every step of the way.

Psalm 118:24 says  24 This is the day the LORD has made; We will rejoice and be glad in it.

I want my children to live by this scripture. I want them to know that every day is a gift from God and we can rejoice in it!

3 responses to “Precious Moments

  1. So true…my house is clean…no grandchildren…I miss them…then a friend came over with her two children and all I did was hug & kiss and love on them. It was a wonderful way to start the New Year and I wasn’t so lonely.

  2. Amen…totally agree! Such a good thought. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Clarence & Kathy Straube

    Yes, yes, Pastor Liz time is so precious and does go by quickly.
    Our children are grown and we have grandchildre, and greatgrandchildren. They are wonderful
    Where oh where has the time gone?
    Love,
    Clarence and Kathy

Leave a Reply

