Be You!

Something that I have learned in my 30 some-odd years of life is that no matter how many times I may have wished that I could be like someone else, the only person I can really be is ME! Oh how I wish I could go back and tell that to myself when I was growing up. I spent so much time trying to fit in, trying to dress like, act like, talk like other people. But somehow it wasn’t til i figured out that I could never actually be those other people that I began to embrace who I was.

I remember a scene from My Best Friends Wedding,

Julia Roberts is explaining to Cameron Diaz that she was like Creme Brulee, but her fiancee wanted jello. Cameron  said, “Well, I can be jello!” Julia, explained to her that, “No, creme brulee can never be jello.” That stuck with me, because it’s true. No matter how hard you try, you can’t be someone different than who you are. Sure you can try to act different, you can buy new clothes, and change your hairstyle, but eventually it will wear off and you will be faced with the truth- You are YOU.

Can you become better? Sure. You can lose a few pounds, take an art class, get a new job, change some habits and behaviors. But, you will still be YOU.

So don’t try to be like anyone else. Embrace who YOU are, and once you do that you will realize that you are

Ecclesiastes 3:1 says He has made EVERYTHNG beautiful in its time.

I’m pretty sure that means you! 😉

2 responses to “Be You!

  1. Great Blog and great example! 🙂

Leave a Reply

