Rejoice

Isaiah 61:10 I will greatly rejoice in the LORD,
My soul shall be joyful in my God;
For He has clothed me with the garments of salvation,
He has covered me with the robe of righteousness,
As a bridegroom decks himself with ornaments,
And as a bride adorns herself with her jewels

I want to encourage you today to take the time to rejoice in the Lord. If you look at the definition of the word rejoice you might see that it means happiness or joy. However if you dig a little deeper you will find that it not only means to feel happiness and joy, but to express GREAT joy or to be ecstatic with joy!

I love the Lord with all my heart, I serve Him with gladness. I’ve lived my life without Him and I can’t imagine ever being in that place again. He is the reason I wake up every day. He makes me happy and I feel joy being in His presence. BUT, do I take it one step further, do I express that joy back to Him? Not only when Im up in front of the congregation leading  them in praise to Him, but when no one else is around, when it’s just me and Him? Do I get so caught up in the busyness of life and “ministry” that I forget to be ecstatic  just because He saved me, just because He chose me, just because He forgave me, just because He loves me?

If I’m honest the answer is sometimes yes.

No matter how much I love my Lord and Savior, there are times when I take for granted the beautiful gift He has given me. Times when I am overwhelmed and instead of running to Him, I just keep running and consequently eventually run out of steam. But that’s when He is there to catch me, to breath new life into me and to remind me why I fell in love with Him to begin with.

 

One response to “Rejoice

  1. Clarence & Kathy Straube

    Pastor Liz,

    Thank you for these words, they arrived just in time to remind us how much we love Him, the Almighty one, and to rejoice not matter what is going on.
    When trouble hits–I am saying, Jesus told me you were coming and you are defeated in and through His name. By the blood of the lamb and the word of my testimoney. They we rejoice and the joy of the Lord is in us.
    Love you,

    Clarence and Kathy

Leave a Reply

