What Would You Do?

I have a couple of friends who are runners (something I am aspiring to be). They have a cool app that syncs their miles to their Facebook page. I am always impressed as I am on Facebook and see that one of them ran 5, 10 15 miles.

Similarily, I have other friends who play all kinds of games (nothing wrong with it if that’s you) The other day I saw something in particular and thought, “What a tremendous waste of time, I would not want anyone to know I spent so much time doing that!”

This made me think, what if everything we did was automatically posted for everyone to see? Can you imagine?

Mary spent 5 hours watching a Keeping Up With the Kardashians marathon. John spent 3 hours playing Call of Duty on the Xbox.   Linda spent 2 hours reading a tabloid  magazine.    Dan worked out for 1.5 hours.  Trina surfed the internet uselessly for an hour.  Molly spent 5 minutes playing basketball with her kids, then 45 minutes talking on the phone.

I wondered what I would choose to do if I knew everyone would know my every move. Would I use my time more wisely? Would I watch my words more carefully?

Would I do this?

or this?

This  or this?

Would I choose this for lunch?

or this?

I am not suggesting there is anything wrong with television, or Facebook, or Xbox , or cheeseburgers and fries 🙂 I am simply asking if the choices we make on a daily basis would be the choices we would make if they were visible for all to see?

Ecclesiastes 12:14 tells us 14 For God will bring every work into judgment,
      Including every secret thing, Whether good or evil.

Whether or not everyone will see the things we do, There is One who always sees everything we do. Just something to think about…….

2 responses to “What Would You Do?

  1. conVICting! gulp. hans has never really liked the wwjd motto,
    preferring what would Jesus have you do?

  2. Clarence & Kathy Straube

    Yes, this is so true–it is all about asking God, what would you have me to do. I have not always done this, but by His grace I will be able to. I am running my race with His grace and I am so very thankful, so thankful for His mercy. It is new everyday. One more thing, His peace is living in me, no matter what is happening, His peace is in me and I can overcome all, because of Him. In myself, I am nothing, I can do nothing, but being in Him, I can do what He has called me to do. You know, He causes me to triump in and through Christ Jesus.

    Thanks, for these thought.

    Love, Clarence and Kathy

Leave a Reply

