Ouch!

For the past couple of days I have heard a lot of opinions about the Casey Anthony trial/verdict/sentencing. People that don’t agree with the verdict, people that think she was guilty but that there wasn’t enough evidence to convict with the death sentence. People that are outraged, angry, and a few who don’t really care either way. I have read things that said, God is her ultimate judge, that she will get what she deserves when she stands before Him one day, that no one truly knows what happened. I have read that God loves the mother as much as He loves the child, that He isn’t willing for anyone to perish, that we have been forgiven of so much, what right do we have to hold un-forgiveness towards anyone else. It seems that everyone has an opinion about this case.

I found myself thinking about this situation and coming to the conclusion that it’s not really my business and I have no reason to make assumptions or judgements about any person. Not Casey Anthony, not the people who are upset about her, not the people who are upset with the people who are upset with her, not anyone. I decided I don’t have a right to an opinion about this case, so therefore I wasn’t going to say anything at all. As I was congratulating myself on the mature conclusion I had reached, I heard the still small voice on the inside of me that said, “Oh yeah? You may not have an opinion about this, but you sure have an opinion about other people all the time!”

Ouch! That’s the truth. Whether I voice my opinions or not, I realized that I do judge other people’s motives, actions, decisions, words, and sometimes even the intent of their heart. While I may not have said anything about Casey Anthony, her supporters or her naysayers, I am often quick to judge others without even meaning to.

That’s pretty scary because the Bible says in Matthew 7:1-2 1DO NOT judge and criticize and condemn others, so that you may not be judged and criticized and condemned yourselves.  2For just as you judge and criticize and condemn others, you will be judged and criticized and condemned, and in accordance with the measure you [use to] deal out to others, it will be dealt out again to you.

I think I’m going to print these verses out and staple them to my forehead! You can be sure that in the future I will carefully judge myself before passing judgement, criticizing or condemning anyone else for any reason!

3 responses to “Ouch!

  1. Clarence & Kathy Straube

    I agree and also need a set to put on my forehead. And that scripture deep in my spirit. Thanks Pastor Liz

  2. That’s good stuff right there!

  3. The Lord has been Speaking to me also to examine myself and not judge anyone but Love everyone. God is Love and His Spirit Lives in me. Forgive me my trespasses and Help me to forgive from the heart.
    God Bless.

Leave a Reply

