The Only Opinion That Matters

I have to admit that for a season of my life I tended to be a bit of a people pleaser. By that I mean, I couldn’t stand to have someone unhappy with me. When I  thought a person didn’t like something I had done, I would go to them and try to explain my decisions or actions. I always went overboard making sure everyone was happy with me.

But over the years I came to a realization.

People won’t always agree with my choices, my decisions, my words or my actions, but as long as ONE person is happy with me, nothing else matters.

That’s why I am-

If God is happy with me, no other opinion in the world matters. I don’t care who likes me, doesn’t like me, agrees with me, disagrees  with me, loves me, hates me, etc……

Yesterday I was driving in the car and as I was sitting there minding my own business the presence of God surrounded  me and I had the greatest sense that the Lord was indeed pleased with me. It was as if I could tangibly feel that I was in the middle of His perfect will and that He was happy with me.

Let me tell you, nothing else in the world can compare to that feeling. It was in that moment that I had a revelation of what it means to truly fear the Lord.

Proverbs 9:10 tells us that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom. That is indeed the truth. There is no way I want to step outside of God’s perfect will for my life so I want to please Him with every decision, word and action. I have a fear of the Lord, but I am not afraid of Him. His is the only opinion that matters to me. I just love Him so much that I want to make sure He is pleased with me every moment of every day!

3 responses to “The Only Opinion That Matters

  1. Clarence & Kathy Straube

    This is how we want to continue to be , in His will. It is so peaceful.

  2. hi liz!

    there is nothing more miserable than being a people
    pleaser. i’m so glad you are throwing off that bondage
    and choosing to please Him. you will be so much
    happier and more fruitful.

    blessings,
    lea

  3. Clarence & Kathy Straube

    Yes, Lea, I have been a much happier person since I threw off that old person who always wanted to please people. God is the one to depend on in the good and tough times. Through His Word and Spirit.
    Love, Clarence and Kathy

Leave a Reply

