The Real Life Notebook

I have seen the movie the Notebook only one time, but I read the book, which was even better! It is a beautiful love story that you really should see or read, if you haven’t already.

I was reminded of this movie today as I made my every other week visit to the nursing home. The facility I visit isn’t just a regular assisted living facility, but one for patients with mental health issues, specifically alzhiemers and dementia. I have a few special little friends who I have come to love over the past year.

There is one lady in particular that I want to tell you about today. I won’t mention her name to protect her privacy, but she is the sweetest thing! Each time I come to visit, she comes up to me with the biggest smile on her face and tells me how beautiful I am and how much she loves me and that she is so glad that I have come to visit her. When I first started going to this nursing home, I would see her and invite her to come join us for a Bible study, but she would politely refuse. Over the past few months, however, she has attended the study faithfully.

One of the most special things about her, is her husband. He does not live at the home with her, but comes to spend the day with her all day every day. He walks the halls with her and at times when she wants to walk with her friends, he walks behind her allowing her to talk with others, carefully watching out for her. In those moments when her mind is clouded and she begins to talk like she is in the past, he sweetly takes her hand and reassures her when she is agitated.

I imagine he wishes their daily walks were more like this

or this

but he still comes to spend the day with the woman he loves. Oh is he proud of her! He tells of how she is a singer, and still has a beautiful voice. He is quick to say she is so beautiful when she compliments someone else’s looks, and the way he looks at her….. I cannot put his expression into words, but every time I see them, it touches my heart.

Theirs is a real life love story. Perhaps their happily ever after isn’t what you would expect to see on the big screen, but  the love and devotion they share is something special and rare.

On another note, I was reading out of John chapter 14 today, and as I was reading aloud, my sweet little friend was quoting the verses word for word right along with me. Although her mind may not function properly all the time, the Word she had planted in it years ago, is still coming forth. She told me she didn’t even know how she knew all those verses, but I do.

Psalm 119:11-16 says 

11Your word I have hidden in my heart,

         That I might not sin against You.
 12 Blessed are You, O LORD!
         Teach me Your statutes.
 13 With my lips I have declared
         All the judgments of Your mouth.
 14 I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies,
         As much as in all riches.
 15 I will meditate on Your precepts,
         And contemplate Your ways.
 16 I will delight myself in Your statutes;
         I will not forget Your word. 

 

2 responses to “The Real Life Notebook

  1. Having worked in Long Term Care for over 10 years I know how important something simple such as sharing a moment with an elderly patient can be.Thank you for sharing this wonderful post and thank you as well for giving of yourself and making such a difference in the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

