Monday Meditation- What’s your vision?

Habakkuk 2:3 –

For the vision is yet for an appointed time;
      But at the end it will speak, and it will not lie.
      Though it tarries, wait for it;
      Because it will surely come,
      It will not tarry.

My husband just finished a series on pursuing your purpose. It was very eye-opening and made me really evaluate what my purpose is.  One Sunday a few weeks ago he taught on Habakkuk chapter 2 verses 1-3. The whole passage is good, but I haven’t been able to get verse 3 out of my mind. I have been meditating on this specific scripture for the past two weeks!

One of the things that my hubs said (giving credit where credit is due 🙂 ) is that every vision has a time, a voice, a tarry and a time when it comes to pass. Over the next few days I might write about each of those things, but today let’s start at the beginning. With the vision itself.

Each one of us has something that we are called to do. I meet a lot of people who say, “I don’t know what my purpose is.” When you don’t know your purpose you don’t have a clear sense of direction. You can wander around aimlessly hoping to eventually find your reason for living. One thing my very wise husband says is that you know what you are called to do by what you love and by what you hate.

For example, he hates seeing people sick. It really tweaks him to see someone suffering. It’s no surprise that he flows in a strong healing anointing, and holds miracle, healing crusades aorund the world. I love to worship. It is has always been my passion, my greatest joy, and something I never tire of. I am constantly writing songs or ideas for songs down in my journal. (Even sometimes when I’m supposed to be taking notes in church! Don’t tell Pastor Chris :0) My favorite thing to do is not only enter the presence of God, but take others there with me.  I would and have led worship with a full band and choir, or by myself with tracks, for two people or for 2000 people. It doesn’t matter to me. I know my purpose.  I’m a worship leader.

 Maybe you love spending time with older people. Maybe you love children. Maybe you can’t stand to see a young girl with no self esteem lowering her standards for every Joe blow that walks by. Maybe your heart aches when you see a homeless person on the side of the road. Does that mean you are called to be a Senior’s pastor, or a Children’s pastor or a youth minister, or to start a homeless outreach? Maybe, but maybe not. Perhaps you are just called to help in one of those ministries in a local church.

If you evaluate yourself and still don’t have a clue what you’re purpose is, then start trying out different things. Volunteer at the Salvation Army, work in the children’s ministry at your church. Attend a Bible Study at a local college. Visit your church’s choir practice. (If you’re in Daytona Beach, our is on Thursday nights… just sayin’!) At the very least you’ll then know for sure what you’re NOT called to do.

Chances are good that God has already given you the vision for your life. Once you know what it is then do what it says in Habakkuk 2:1 in the Message Bible. And then God answered: “Write this.
   Write what you see.
Write it out in big block letters
   so that it can be read on the run.

Write it out, make it plain, and keep it in the forefront of your mind. Knowing your purpose simplifies your life, governs your thoughts, words and actions, and keeps you on track to fulfilling the vision that God gave you.

3 responses to “Monday Meditation- What’s your vision?

  1. well said, liz! you clearly have a purpose here!

    brother bill’s funeral was today, and it was sad
    and wonderful at the same time.

    love,
    lea

    • He was such a beautiful person! I will never forget, “Good morning church” Good morning Brother Bill”! I’m glad he is with Jesus. He fought a good fight and finished his race. Pretty sure he heard, “well done, good and faithful servant.”

  2. Clarence & Kathy Straube

    Pastor’s, Thanks for everything you do and you teach. We have learned many things from you, but one of the most important subject to us have been–To walk out your destiny.
    Thanks,
    Clarence and Kathy

Leave a Reply

