Reason to Celebrate

Psalm 121

1 I will lift up my eyes to the hills—
         From whence comes my help?
 2 My help comes from the LORD,
         Who made heaven and earth.
         
 3 He will not allow your foot to be moved;
         He who keeps you will not slumber.
 4 Behold, He who keeps Israel
         Shall neither slumber nor sleep.
         
 5 The LORD is your keeper;
         The LORD is your shade at your right hand.
 6 The sun shall not strike you by day,
         Nor the moon by night.
         
 7 The LORD shall preserve you from all evil;
         He shall preserve your soul.
 8 The LORD shall preserve your going out and your coming in
         From this time forth, and even forevermore.

This passage was running through my mind the other day, so I thought I would share it with you. I love the Psalms! They are so full of encouragement. When I am having a moment of unrest in my life, I like to look at a Psalm or two and always find strength in the beautiful words penned by the worshipper I most admire. King David wrote most of the Book of Psalms although some of the chapters were written by others. I love how regardless how desperate David’s situation was, he continually looked to the Lord to be His strength.

David went through it all. The good, the bad, the really bad and the even worse! He was a hero, a fugitive, an adulterer, a murderer, a shepherd, a minstrel, a writer, a worshipper, and a King just to name a few things. He experienced great triumphs in his life, moments of fear and trembling, times of shame and pain, and through it all he never lost sight of where his strength and joy came from. From the Lord.

Take a moment to reflect upon the goodness of God in your life today. Take a moment to thank Him for continually watching over you. Take a moment to rejoice that your help always has, and always will come from Him. That He will not allow you to be moved, but instead will enable you to stand firm and strong regardless of any attack that may come your way. Knowing that your HeavenlyFather has you on  His mind at all times is reason to celebrate today!

2 responses to “Reason to Celebrate

  1. i love “the good, the bad, the really bad, and
    even the worst!”

    been there.

  2. Clarence & Kathy Straube

    Thank you this is a good reminder for Clarence and I. He has always been with us in the good times and not so good times. I was standing before my washer and dryer and thanking God for these blessing. I remember on mission trips seeing the woman washing their clothes on rocks and hanging them to dry on a wire fence. We are so blessed and do not take it for granted.
    Psalm 27: 13-14 is a favorite of ours in hard times: “I would have lost heart unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. 14 Wait on the Lord. Be of good courage , and He shall strengthen your heart: Wait, I say, on the Lord.”
    He is our everything from the sunrise to the sunset–Our Majesty, Holy Awesome God and will never leave us or forsake us. Holy is the only word to describe Him, Holy, Holy, Holy.
    Love to each, Clarence and Kathy

Leave a Reply

