A Pretty Red Car

I Corinthians 9:24-27 24 Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it. 25 And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a perishable crown, but we for an imperishable crown. 26 Therefore I run thus: not with uncertainty. Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air. 27 But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.

Yesterday was Super Bowl Sunday.

4 months
32 teams
65 preseason games
256 regular season games
11 post season games
Boiled down to 60 minutes for 2 teams competing for
1 trophy
 
Yesterday morning before church I was getting ready and my husband had ESPN on the television. The announcers were talking about the upcoming game and interviewing different players. I heard at least 5 different players, both past and present say the same thing. “I couldn’t sleep the night before the Super Bowl.” After winning the game the MVP, quarterback Aaron Rodgers, was being interviewed and made the statement that it was what he had been dreaming of all his life. And probably training for too.
 
Between the two teams that played last night there was only one winner. Only one took home the trophy. And between the 106 players that comprised those two teams, only one walked away with an MVP Trophy. (And a pretty, red, 2011 Camaro convertible ! )
 
I found myself thinking, am I that focused about what I am called to do? Am I running after my purpose with the dedication and focus that these football players showed in running after a ring and a trophy? As we see in our passage, they  seek after a prize that is perishable, but the prize I am running after is eternal.
I am going to leave you with  today’s scripture as found in the Message Bible –  You’ve all been to the stadium and seen the athletes race. Everyone runs; one wins. Run to win. All good athletes train hard. They do it for a gold medal that tarnishes and fades. You’re after one that’s gold eternally.I don’t know about you, but I’m running hard for the finish line. I’m giving it everything I’ve got. No sloppy living for me! I’m staying alert and in top condition. I’m not going to get caught napping, telling everyone else all about it and then missing out myself.
 
I was challenged that every thought, word and action needs to be focused on fulfilling what God had called me to do. Focused on the prize that means more than anything natural I could ever receive.
Although, I sure wouldn’t mind one of those pretty, red, cars too! 😉
 
 
2 responses to “A Pretty Red Car

  1. Yes and again yes, running after His vision and His destiny for us. We are looking forward to this weekend. One thing that has been on my heart since I was saved–was to tell everyone about Jesus, pray and tell and more pray and telling of Our Lord Jesus Christ. You know how you want everyone to share in something good you have found, how much more to be able to tell them about Jesus. Nothing else matters in this life.

    Lots of love,
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

