Motivated by Love

This blog used to be more of a daily devotional. The format has changed, but I didn’t want to lose that aspect. So what I’ve come up with is  “Meditation Monday. Every Monday we will break apart a specific verse and hopefully it will give you something to think about all week long.

This week’s verse is John 13:34-35 A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another.  By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.

Yesterday in church my husband talked for a moment about why we do what we do. What is our motivation? Do we give to get blessed in return? Do we obey the Word in hopes of getting a reward? What is the motivation behind our actions?

The number one motivaton should be Love. The love that we have for God is what should compel us in life. If we get a reward in the process then great, but ultimately if we love God we shouldn’t care about what we GET but rather what we GIVE. The getting is just an added bonus. One day we get to see Jesus, and in that moment, I don’t think we will care what kind of crown is on our heads. We will be on our faces crying Holy, Holy, Holy, and just loving Him.

Today’s verse tells us to love one another, and not just the way we think love ought to be. This is Jesus talking and He says, love one another the way I love you. That’s a pretty tall order. Last time I checked it said in 1 John 3:16 By this we know love, because He laid down His life for us.  No matter how much I think I’m showing love to others I can honestly say I haven’t literally given up my life for anyone…..yet.

 There are however, other ways I can lay down my life. I can focus less on my wants and more on other’s needs. I can incovenience myself to convenience other people. I can take time out of my busy schedule to spend with others who don’t have any kind of schedule. I can go out of my way to make sure the people in my life know I love them.

This week I challenge you to show love to everyone you come across. Lay down your life for someone else. Go out of your way to make sure that people see the love of Jesus in you. And although you aren’t doing it for any reason other than you love the Lord you do get an added bonus. Another verse, John 15:11, says These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full.

Leave a Reply

