Declare the Word

Psalm 119:12-16 12Blessed are You, O Lord; teach me Your statutes13With my lips have I declared and recounted all the ordinances of Your mouth.  14I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies as much as in all riches.  15I will meditate on Your precepts and have respect to Your ways [the paths of life marked out by Your law]. 16I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your word.

Once we find what the Word of God says, we then have to keep those words in the forefront of our minds continually. The best way to do this is to speak what the Word says. In Joshua Chapter 1, the Lord is speaking to Joshua as he is getting ready to be the new leader of the Israelite nation. God promises to be with Joshua, to guide and direct him in all he does. Then in verses 7- 8 the Lord says   7Only you be strong and very courageous, that you may do according to all the law which Moses My servant commanded you. Turn not from it to the right hand or to the left, that you may prosper wherever you go.   8This Book of the Law shall not depart out of your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, that you may observe and do according to all that is written in it. For then you shall make your way prosperous, and then you shall deal wisely and have good success. I love this! This Book of the Law shall not depart out of your mouth. Joshua is then instructed meditate on it day and night. When I think of meditating, I used to always think that meant to think about something in my mind. In all actuality though, to meditate also means to mutter or to think aloud. How do you think aloud? With your mouth of course, speaking what you are thinking about.

Speaking the Word on a regular basis makes you conscious of what it says, so that you may observe and do what it says. Why is it so important for us to do what the Word says? So that our way will be prosperous, we will deal wisely and have good success. I don’t know about you but I want to be successful in everything I put my hand to. If I follow the Word’s instructions I am assured of that. When dealing with my children- the Word says in Proverbs 22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go [and in keeping with his individual gift or bent], and when he is old he will not depart from it. When I think of wanting to be the best wife I can for my husband, I am reminded of Proverbs 31:11-12   11The heart of her husband trusts in her confidently and relies on and believes in her securely, so that he has no lack of [honest] gain or need of [dishonest] spoil.  12She comforts, encourages, and does him only good as long as there is life within her. Proverbs 17:17 tells me A friend loves at all times and that reminder helps me to be successful in my relationships. Success isn’t only measured by material wealth, prestige or position. Having good success in life, also means that you have achieved being the best you can possibly be. The only way to absolutely guarantee your success is to read the Word, speak the Word and live the Word in every area of life!

One response to “Declare the Word

  1. i wish the “name it/claim it” folks hadn’t
    ruined this for so many of us.

    there is such power in speaking His Word.
    i just don’t think it applies to mercedes
    and wealth as much as to our hearts.

    i pray a portion of God’s Word over my
    children and family and friends each
    night.

    thanks, liz, for a great word!

Leave a Reply

