Teach Me

Psalm 119:12-16 12Blessed are You, O Lord; teach me Your statutes.  13With my lips have I declared and recounted all the ordinances of Your mouth.  14I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies as much as in all riches.  15I will meditate on Your precepts and have respect to Your ways [the paths of life marked out by Your law]. 16I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your word.

David starts this off- Blessed are you O Lord, then requests a lesson in the law of the Lord. David understood clearly that as God said in Isaiah 55:8 8For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways, says the Lord. David first recognized God’s sovereignty then made his request to be taught in His ways. When we ask God to teach us His statutes, or His rules, we had better be ready to then obey His commandments. It’s one thing when we don’t know what the word says, but after we gain that knowledge, we no longer have an excuse not to obey. If I am speeding and get stopped by a police officer, I might be able to escape the ticket with the excuse, “Oops, I didn’t know what the speed limit was on this road.” However, if I am still speeding the next day, and get stopped by the same policeman, that excuse probably isn’t going to hold a lot of water!

A few verses later, in Psalm 119:66 David says 66Teach me good judgment, wise and right discernment, and knowledge, for I have believed (trusted, relied on, and clung to) Your commandments. To teach means to impart knowledge to somebody, to give lessons in something, to make somebody understand something, and the definition I like the best- to teach regularly. If we allow ourselves to be taught by the Word of God on a regular basis, there won’t be one situation in life that we won’t be victorious in. How do we allow God to teach us His statutes? By spending time in His Word, studying what it says, and making sure that we follow His commandments. Before we even open the Bible, we can first ask God to teach us, to show us what He wants us to see, and to help us walk in the fullness of obedience to that Word.

Leave a Reply

