Planted in Your Heart

Psalm 119:9-16 9How shall a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed and keeping watch [on himself] according to Your word [conforming his life to it].  10With my whole heart have I sought You, inquiring for and of You and yearning for You; Oh, let me not wander or step aside [either in ignorance or willfully] from Your commandments. 11Your word have I laid up in my heart, that I might not sin against You.  12Blessed are You, O Lord; teach me Your statutes.  13With my lips have I declared and recounted all the ordinances of Your mouth.  14I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies as much as in all riches.  15I will meditate on Your precepts and have respect to Your ways [the paths of life marked out by Your law]. 16I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your word.

This verse has been running through my head for the past couple of weeks. Thy Word have I laid up in my heart. The King James Version says 11Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee. When something is laid up, it is stored, put in a safe place, set aside. We need to have the Word of God stored in our hearts as a constant reminder of how we are to live our lives. What’s in you is what is going to come out of you. If you have the Word in you, when you are faced with any situation or circumstance, the Word is what is going to come out of you.

Let’s say you are going through financial pressure. If the Word is laid up in your heart, when you are tempted to complain or worry, instead you will remember Philippians 4:19 says And my God shall supply ALL of my needs according to His riches and glory. The anxiety and fear that you may have been tempted to give into are then replaced with peace and comfort knowing that God is there for you, and will meet every need you have. When you are faced with a physical illness, and want to give in to the pain you will think, “Wait a minute, Psalm 107:20 says 20He sends forth His word and heals them and rescues them from the pit and destruction. The Word of God says , Jesus came to heal All those oppressed by the devil. I am a part of that all. Healing is for me. Right now! Today!” When it seems that pressure is overtaking you on every side, 2 Corinthians 4:8-9 will rise up out of your heart- 8We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; 9persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.

A couple of days ago I said that the Word of God has an answer for every situation. It does, but if you don’t know what it says it won’t do you any good. I encourage you to take time to plant God’s Word deeply in your heart. If you don’t know where to start, a good verse to remember is 1 John 4:4 4Little children, you are of God [you belong to Him] and have [already] defeated and overcome them [the agents of the antichrist], because He Who lives in you is greater (mightier) than he who is in the world. This verse can be applied to pretty much any circumstance. Greater is He that is in you! Hide it in your heart, let it come out of your mouth. You are an overcomer!

One response to “Planted in Your Heart

Leave a Reply

