Let Me Not Wander

Psalm 119:9-16 9How shall a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed and keeping watch [on himself] according to Your word [conforming his life to it].  10With my whole heart have I sought You, inquiring for and of You and yearning for You; Oh, let me not wander or step aside [either in ignorance or willfully] from Your commandments. 11Your word have I laid up in my heart, that I might not sin against You.  12Blessed are You, O Lord; teach me Your statutes.  13With my lips have I declared and recounted all the ordinances of Your mouth.  14I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies as much as in all riches.  15I will meditate on Your precepts and have respect to Your ways [the paths of life marked out by Your law]. 16I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your word.

We are talking about the Word of God, and I want to focus our attention on verse 10 today. Let’s start with the first four words- With my whole heart. It’s easy to say that we give God our whole hearts, but in reality do we? If we are seeking after Him with our whole heart, that means that every moment of our lives we are actively pursuing Him and His plans for us. That means that every word that comes out of our mouth lines up with His words, that every action is in accordance with what He would want us to do, and that every thought that  is not of God is immediately taken captive. Maybe you are there, but I will be the first to admit that I am not quite at that place yet. There are times that my whole heart is His, but other times that my heart is really mine. David says with my whole heart have I sought You, inquiring for and OF You. I have to ask myself, “Is every part of my being seeking God, asking Him what I can think, say and do?” The answer is a resounding NO! Too often I think what I want, say what I want, and do what I want rather than what He wants.

In the next part of the verse, David says Oh, let me not wander or step aside [either in ignorance or willfully] from your commandments. It’s good to recognize that although our heart’s desire might be for the Lord, there will be times that we will not heed His words. Whether accidently or on purpose, there will be times that we choose our own way over His. There will be times that we choose to do what we want. However, if our daily prayer is- “Lord, help me to seek You with my whole heart, with everything in me. Help me not to do anything or say anything contrary to Your Word. Help me to conform my life to Your Word.”- He will help us, and give us His ability to overcome ourselves. Today I encourage you to put your whole heart into seeking Him, and following His direction for your life. Make a conscious effort to obey His commands in every situation today!

Leave a Reply

