The Map of Your Word

Psalm 119:9-16 9How shall a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed and keeping watch [on himself] according to Your word [conforming his life to it].  10With my whole heart have I sought You, inquiring for and of You and yearning for You; Oh, let me not wander or step aside [either in ignorance or willfully] from Your commandments. 11Your word have I laid up in my heart, that I might not sin against You.  12Blessed are You, O Lord; teach me Your statutes.  13With my lips have I declared and recounted all the ordinances of Your mouth.  14I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies as much as in all riches.  15I will meditate on Your precepts and have respect to Your ways [the paths of life marked out by Your law]. 16I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your word.

As you may remember our church just finished a 90 day Bible reading challenge. We were so happy to see quite a few who completed the challenge in the 90 days, but even happier to see those committed to finishing regardless of how long it takes. The Word of God is such a wonderful thing. It is the only thing I  know that has the answer to every question, the solution to every problem, the hope for every situation, and abundance of life for every person. In the Word of God you can find out who He created you to be, the direction you should go, the response you should have, the way you should act, what you can have, what you can do. It is a roadmap to your life. The Bible is a light unto our path and a lamp unto our feet. Jesus told us in John 6:63 my words they are Spirit and they are life.

In today’s passage there are many things that we can learn about the Word, but let’s focus on the first verse 9How shall a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed and keeping watch [on himself] according to Your word [conforming his life to it]. We can work backwards to see it more clearly. By conforming his life to Your Word, and keeping a watch on himself, a young man shall cleanse his way. The Message Bible says How can a young person live a clean life?  By carefully reading the map of your Word. When we see what the Word says, and carefully watch to make sure we conform our lives to that Word our lives will be pure, clean, and we will avoid many of the pitfalls that try to get us off track.

One response to “The Map of Your Word

  1. i remember singing the children’s song
    to that verse. great message!

Leave a Reply

