Words Full Of Power and Life

90 Day Challenge, Day 38- Job 25:1- Job 41:35

Job 35:14-16 14How much less when [missing His righteous judgment on earth] you say that you do not see Him, that your cause is before Him, and you are waiting for Him!  15But now because God has not [speedily] punished in His anger and seems to be unaware of the wrong and oppression [of which a person is guilty], 16Job uselessly opens his mouth and multiplies words without knowledge [drawing the worthless conclusion that the righteous have no more advantage than the wicked].

Let me set this up for you. Job in the midst of his affliction starts talking about how he misses the days when everything was good. He starts crying a little bit about how he doesn’t understand why this is all happening to him. I’m guessing he forgot what he said a few chapters earlier about leaving off his complaint and comforting himself! Sometimes when the pressure shows up, we start off great. We are saying the right things, doing the right things, but as the pressure continues and increases, maybe we lose sight of what we know to be truth, so we start saying something different?….. But that’s a whole ‘nother blog topic! Let’s stick with this one today, maybe…. 🙂

Elihu, who I gather is a younger man, finally has had it and speaks up. He says that he isn’t as old as Job, and he has hesitated but he is going to speak his mind. I have to show you what he says in Job 32:6-10 6Then Elihu son of Barachel the Buzite said, I am young, and you are aged; for that reason I was timid and restrained and dared not declare my opinion to you.  7I said, Age should speak, and a multitude of years should teach wisdom [so let it be heard].   8But there is [a vital force] a spirit [of intelligence] in man, and the breath of the Almighty gives men understanding. 9It is not the great [necessarily] who are wise, nor [always] the aged who understand justice.   10So I say, Listen to me; I also will give you my opinion [about Job’s situation] and my knowledge. Hmmm, anyone ever held back from voicing your opinions until you’ve finally had enough, so you stand up and say what you think? Also another blog topic……

So, Elihu starts talking about how Job has this opinion of himself, how he thinks he is above the kind of affliction that he is experiencing, and asks what right he has to question the Sovereignty of God in all of it. He says, Job uselessly opened his mouth and basically spoke without having any knowledge of what he was talking about. Has anyone ever been there? You are speaking, but your words are useless and devoid of power because you don’t have the knowledge to back them up? Proverbs 4:7 says The beginning of Wisdom is: get Wisdom (skillful and godly Wisdom)! [For skillful and godly Wisdom is the principal thing.] And with all you have gotten, get understanding (discernment, comprehension, and interpretation). When the pressure shows up, instead of focusing on why is this happening to me, get some knowledge from the Word of God and start speaking what the Bible says. Instead of saying, “I’m a good person, why is this happening?” Say, “ I am well able to overcome.” Instead of saying, “But I’m doing everything I’m supposed to do”, say “My God always causes me to triumph!”. Gaining an understanding of what the Word says empowers you to have what the Word says. When you understand it, you’ll speak words full of Power and life!

Leave a Reply

