The Price You Are Willing to Pay

90 Day Challenge – Day 24- 2 Samuel 22:19- 1 Kings 7:37

2 Samuel 24:21-24 21Araunah said, Why has my lord the king come to his servant? And David said, To buy the threshing floor from you, to build there an altar to the Lord, that the plague may be stayed from the people.  22And Araunah said to David, Let my lord the king take and offer up what seems good to him. Behold, here are oxen for burnt sacrifice, and threshing instruments and the yokes of the oxen for wood.  23All this, O king, Araunah gives to the king. And Araunah said to the king, The Lord your God accept you.  24But King David said to Araunah, No, but I will buy it of you for a price. I will not offer burnt offerings to the Lord my God of that which costs me nothing. So David bought the threshing floor and the oxen for fifty shekels of silver.

Let me set this up for you. David basically did something wrong, by numbering the people. He put trust in their strength rather than in the Lord. The prophet came to David and said you have three choices of punishment, and David chose three days of an epidemic. As he saw many people dying, He cried out and asked God to strike him instead. He was the one who had done the wrong, and he didn’t want his people suffering for it. He was told to go and make an alter and sacrifice to the Lord. When he approached the owner of the place where the offering was to be made he asked to buy the property/ The owner said, no he would just give it to David. David responded with the words in verse 24- No, but I will buy it of you for a price. I will not offer burnt offerings to the Lord my God of that which costs me nothing.

 While we do not sacrifice burnt offerings anymore in this day and time, there are still many ways we bring our offerings to the Lord. (and I’m not just talking about tithes and offerings) We give our service, we give our worship, we give our time, just to name a few, but does what we bring to God carry a price? Does it cost us nothing? . In Philippians 2:17-18 Paul says 17 But I will rejoice even if I lose my life, pouring it out like a liquid offering to God, just like your faithful service is an offering to God. And I want all of you to share that joy. 18 Yes, you should rejoice, and I will share your joy. He recognized that our entire life is supposed to be an offering unto the Lord.

 What does it cost you to give your life as an offering to the Lord? Extra sleep in the morning because you wake up early to get into His presence? Your own wants and desires, in order to fulfill His wants and desires for you? For some it may cost relationships that don’t bring them closer to God. Only you can answer this question, but whatever value you place on your sacrifice will determine the price you are willing to pay.

Leave a Reply

