Speak Lord

90 Day challenge – Day 20 1 Samuel 2:30- 1 Samuel 15:35

1 Samuel 3:1 & 8-10  1NOW THE boy Samuel ministered to the Lord before Eli. The word of the Lord was rare and precious in those days; there was no frequent or widely spread vision……….. 8And the Lord called Samuel the third time. And he went to Eli and said, Here I am, for you did call me. Then Eli perceived that the Lord was calling the boy.   9So Eli said to Samuel, Go, lie down. And if He calls you, you shall say, Speak, Lord, for Your servant is listening. So Samuel went and lay down in his place. 10And the Lord came and stood and called as at other times, Samuel! Samuel! Then Samuel answered, Speak, Lord, for Your servant is listening.

Remember Samuel from yesterday? The boy who’s mother gave him to the service of the Lord as soon as he was weaned? In this passage Samuel, who is still a young boy, hears someone calling him in the night, saying Samuel, Samuel. He assumes it is Eli the priest and runs to him. Eli says I didn’t call you go back to bed. This happened again, and then a third time. After the third time Eli realizes that it is the Lord calling him and tells him to answer. Stop right here. Has this ever happened to you? You hear someone calling but don’t realize that it is the voice of God? Samuel ministered to the Lord, but he had never communicated with God in quite that way so he did not recognize the voice.

God doesn’t always speak to us in a loud audible voice. I would be willing to bet that few of us have heard the audible voice from heaven. I know I haven’t! I have heard the voice of God though, speaking to me on the inside. I have had a gentle leading. I have had a very strong sense that I needed to do something or not do something. I have felt compelled. I have read something in the Word and known that it was what God wanted me to hear. I have even heard God clearly speak to my spirit. Have you ever felt led to do something, then second –guessed yourself, thinking, “Oh that was just me”?  No, it was probably God speaking to you, you just didn’t recognize His voice.

Once Samuel learned God’s voice, I doubt he ever questioned again. From that point he was ready and available to be used by God. Because he was obedient to the Lord, he was the priest over Israel for many years, and when it was all said and done, his record was without spot or blemish. God communicated with him on a regular basis and he was able to advise the nation of what God wanted them to do. When you become available to God, recognizing His voice and answering, “Here I am Lord, speak for I’m listening” He will use you too.

One response to “Speak Lord

  1. i love this, liz!

    though He caused the earthquake and the fire, He
    was in the still, quiet voice.

    love,
    lea

Leave a Reply

