Why So Downcast Oh My Soul?

90 Day challenge, Day 19 Judges 15:13-1 Samuel 2:29

1 Samuel 1:12-18 12And as she continued praying before the Lord, Eli noticed her mouth.  13Hannah was speaking in her heart; only her lips moved but her voice was not heard. So Eli thought she was drunk. 14Eli said to her, How long will you be intoxicated? Put wine away from you 15But Hannah answered, No, my lord, I am a woman of a sorrowful spirit. I have drunk neither wine nor strong drink, but I was pouring out my soul before the Lord. 16Regard not your handmaid as a wicked woman; for out of my great complaint and bitter provocation I have been speaking. 17Then Eli said, Go in peace, and may the God of Israel grant your petition which you have asked of Him. 18Hannah said, Let your handmaid find grace in your sight. So [she] went her way and ate, her countenance no longer sad.

I have always loved the story of Hannah, the barren woman who cried out to God for a son, God granted her the desire of her heart, and she gave him back to the Lord for His service. There is so much to be gleaned from her life. One of the first sermons I ever preached, about five years ago, was based upon this story. What I want us to see today is something very simple. Look at the end of verse 18- So she went her way and ate, her countenance no longer sad. Hannah was crying out to God and the priest Eli saw her praying. Her lips were moving but most of her prayer was going on in her head because he did not hear her words. He assumed she had had a little too much of the celebratory wine and that she was drunk. After she explained to him that she was praying to God to grant her request, Eli tells her to go in peace and that God would grant her petition. Then she went away and was no longer distraught or sad. Her face even looked different. Why? Because the priest told her God heard her.

I wonder how many of us go into the presence of God pouring out our hearts and souls, and leave the same way we came in. Perhaps if we had a priest that could tell us, “He heard you, He is going to answer your prayer” we might leave refreshed and restored, confident that He would come through for us. Guess what? We do have that assurance. Jesus said in John 14:14 [Yes] I will grant [I Myself will do for you] whatever you shall ask in My Name [as presenting all that I AM]. He also said in John 16:23….. I assure you, most solemnly I tell you, that My Father will grant you whatever you ask in My Name [as presenting all that I AM].  Jesus is  our High Priest and every time we go to the Father in prayer, He reminds us, that He will grant us the petitions we have.

Next time you are seeking the Lord and you are distraught and anxious, remember what David said in Psalm 42:5 5Why are you cast down, O my inner self? And why should you moan over me and be disquieted within me? Hope in God and wait expectantly for Him, for I shall yet praise Him, my Help and my God.

 

2 responses to “Why So Downcast Oh My Soul?

  1. This post hit my heart really profoundly. God totally spoke to me through your words you’ve written. Thank you for sharing..
    What an answer to prayer.

Leave a Reply

