The Strength of My Life

Psalm 73:25-28    25Whom have I in heaven but You? And I have no delight or desire on earth besides You.  26My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the Rock and firm Strength of my heart and my Portion forever.   27For behold, those who are far from You shall perish; You will destroy all who are false to You and like [spiritual] harlots depart from You.  28But it is good for me to draw near to God; I have put my trust in the Lord God and made Him my refuge, that I may tell of all Your works.

I know, I know, this isn’t in chronological order, and I’m supposed to be writing about the passages in the 90 day challenge, but after a really long day, where I didn’t even have a minute to stop and write an Inspiration, I figured this would be better than nothing right? Plus, I can’t get these verses out of my head, so let’s talk about them for a minute. My favorite part is verse 26- My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the Rock and firm Strength of my heart and my Portion forever. I kept thinking about this tonight, because it is so very true. Even in the best of times, our flesh and our hearts will end up failing us. Regardless of how strong we are, or how brave we appear, or how unshakeable we look to others, there are moments where we fail. I guess that’s why Paul wrote in Philippians 3:3 For we [Christians] …….. put no confidence or dependence [on what we are] in the flesh……..

In those moments where outwardly we have it all together, but inwardly we are fighting to just hang on, we can rejoice knowing that God is the strength of our hearts. That He is the One who never fails, but always causes us to triumph. We can glory in knowing that in the midst of our insufficiency, His sufficiency is more than enough to sustain us. That is why the Psalmist says in verse 28- It is good to draw near to God. Remember that when you are not enough, when you don’t know how you can keep going it is in these times that He comes alongside of you carrying you until you once more have the strength to continue on.

One response to “The Strength of My Life

  1. just what i needed to hear this morning. thank you!

    colossians 3:1 i have been drawing near by choosing
    to set my heart on things above, where He is seated.

    love you,
    lea

Leave a Reply

