A Cloud of Fire

90 Day Challenge- Day 11- Numbers 8:15-Numbers 21:7

Numbers 9:15-21 15And on the day that the tabernacle was erected, the cloud [of God’s presence] covered the tabernacle, that is, the Tent of the Testimony; and at evening it was over the tabernacle, having the appearance of [a pillar of] fire until the morning.  16So it was constantly; the cloud covered it by day, and the appearance of fire by night.  17Whenever the cloud was taken up from over the Tent, after that the Israelites journeyed; and in the place where the cloud rested, there the Israelites encamped.   18At the Lord’s command the Israelites journeyed, and at [His] command they encamped. As long as the cloud rested upon the tabernacle they remained encamped.   19Even when the cloud tarried upon the tabernacle many days, the Israelites kept the Lord’s charge and did not set out.   20And sometimes the cloud was only a few days upon the tabernacle, but according to the command of the Lord they remained encamped, and at His command they journeyed.  21And sometimes the cloud remained [over the tabernacle] from evening only until morning, but when the cloud was taken up, they journeyed; whether it was taken up by day or by night, they journeyed.

Reading through the Old Testament Books of the Law has been fascinating. Wow, I am truly glad I live in this time period and not that one! Today as I was going through the scheduled reading, this passage made me pause. The children of Israel were wandering around in a desert. They had already been given the Ten Commandments, they had already built the Tabernacle, and they were just waiting to be led into the land God had promised them. The very day that they finished building the tabernacle it says the a cloud of God’s glory covered the entire structure. During the day it appeared to be a cloud and at night it had the appearance of fire. When God’s presence filled the tabernacle, the people didn’t do anything. They just stayed still. It didn’t matter if it was for weeks at a time, as long as God’s presence remained they did not move. However, as soon as the cloud was gone they would pack up their tents and their belongings and their families and begin to travel. This passage even tells us that no matter what time the cloud lifted, whether it was day or night, they would move. There was no question about what direction they were to go, they just watched for the glory. When it was there they stayed, when it was gone they left. I don’t know about you, but I haven’t seen clouds and pillars of fire lately, directing me where to go and when to move. What we do have is something even better. Rather than an external “sign” to show us the way, we have an internal witness 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. In Psalm 119:105 David says 105Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.   Then, in John 14:26 Jesus says 26But the Comforter (Counselor, Helper, Intercessor, Advocate, Strengthener, Standby), the Holy Spirit, Whom the Father will send in My name [in My place, to represent Me and act on My behalf], He will teach you all things. And He will cause you to recall (will remind you of, bring to your remembrance) everything I have told you. Jesus tells us that when He left the earth, the Holy Spirit was then given to us to bring to our remembrance everything the Word says. 

The Word of God will give us all the direction we need in our lives, it will tell us when to go and when to stop, which way to turn. There is an answer for every question in the Bible. The Holy Spirit brings the Word to our remembrance so that we can know what to do in any situation. The more that I allow myself to hear what God is speaking to me, the more that I do what the Word says. Just the other day I was thinking of some people who had not treated me right. I was trying to justify why, even though I had forgiven them, I still didn’t want to be overly friendly with them. All I heard in my head was “Bless them that curse you, do good to them that despitefully use you.” “Love bears all things, it doesn’t remember a suffered wrong” “If someone strikes you, turn the other cheek” “Forgive seventy times seven” and, well you get the point. The Holy Spirit was bringing to my remembrance the Word of God, and showing me very clearly what I needed to do. The next time you wish you had a fire cloud dropping out of heaven to give you direction, pick up the Word and ask the Holy Spirit to illuminate the right path for your feet to take.

One response to “A Cloud of Fire

  1. “oh, i’m not sure, i will just have to check the cloud
    and the glory to see if that will fit in my schedule.”

    🙂

Leave a Reply

