Better Is One Day

90 Day Challenge Day 10- Leviticus 26:27-Numbers 8:14

Leviticus 26:11-12 11I will set My dwelling in and among you, and My soul shall not despise or reject or separate itself from you. 12And I will walk in and with and among you and will be your God, and you shall be My people.

These are the words spoken by God to the Israelite nation. Let’s back up to the verses before this one- Leviticus 26:3-10   3If you walk in My statutes and keep My commandments and do them,   4I will give you rain in due season, and the land shall yield her increase and the trees of the field yield their fruit. 5And your threshing [time] shall reach to the vintage and the vintage [time] shall reach to the sowing time, and you shall eat your bread to the full and dwell in your land securely.  6I will give peace in the land; you shall lie down and none shall fill you with dread or make you afraid; and I will clear ferocious (wild) beasts out of the land, and no sword shall go through your land.   7And you shall chase your enemies, and they shall fall before you by the sword.   8Five of you shall chase a hundred, and a hundred of you shall put ten thousand to flight; your enemies shall fall before you by the sword.   9For I will be leaning toward you with favor and regard for you, rendering you fruitful, multiplying you, and establishing and ratifying My covenant with you. 10And you shall eat the [abundant] old store of produce long kept, and clear out the old [to make room] for the new. What wonderful promises! The Lord told them if you will follow after me, I will cause you to prosper, give you peace among your people, take care of all your enemies for you, increase you and cause you to walk in abundance, and look on your with favor. What more could anyone ask for? All their needs would be met, they wouldn’t have to worry about a thing. In Exodus 23:25 He also said, 25You shall serve the Lord your God; He shall bless your bread and water, and I will take sickness from your midst.  In addition to being blessed, they would also be guaranteed good health.

Did you know that these promises apply to you as well? 2 Corinthians 1:20 saysThese promises that God made so long ago to the Israelite people are yours today. They find 20For as many as are the promises of God, they all find their Yes

in Him [Christ]. For this reason we also utter the Amen (so be it) to God through Him [in His Person and by His agency] to the glory of God.  their “Yes” answer in Christ. All of the benefits of a covenant with God are wonderful, but today’s passage is the most important to me. 11I will set My dwelling in and among you, and My soul shall not despise or reject or separate itself from you. What good is having all the “stuff” without having the one who gave you the stuff in constant fellowship? Have you ever heard a story of a poor little rich child? One who had everything material they could ever want, but their parents were never around? Perhaps they were driven by limo to school, wore all the best clothes, had all the latest toys and gadgets, but all they really wanted was the time, attention, fellowship, and love of their parents. Sometimes as believers though, we may have the tendency to be the opposite way. We want the healing, prosperity, favor, and protection, but are not so much desiring the fellowship and relationship. Do we take the time to just spend with the Lord, because of who He is rather than what He gives?  I love what the Psalmist says in Psalm 84:10  For a day in Your courts is better than a thousand [anywhere else]; I would rather be a doorkeeper and stand at the threshold in the house of my God than to dwell [at ease] in the tents of wickedness.

If we follow God, we don’t even have to go to His court, He comes to ours. He comes and abides with us, sets His dwelling place in our midst, and will walk in and among us! There is nothing more we could ask for or desire. I want to leave you today with the Psalm 84 in it’s entirety I pray that it encourages you, and causes you to rejoice in the gift of His presence. 1HOW LOVELY are Your tabernacles, O Lord of hosts!  2My soul yearns, yes, even pines and is homesick for the courts of the Lord; my heart and my flesh cry out and sing for joy to the living God.  3Yes, the sparrow has found a house, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young–even Your altars, O Lord of hosts, my King and my God.   4Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) are those who dwell in Your house and Your presence; they will be singing Your praises all the day long. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]! 5Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) is the man whose strength is in You, in whose heart are the highways to Zion.   6Passing through the Valley of Weeping (Baca), they make it a place of springs; the early rain also fills [the pools] with blessings.    7They go from strength to strength [increasing in victorious power]; each of them appears before God in Zion.   😯 Lord God of hosts, hear my prayer; give ear, O God of Jacob! Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]! 9Behold our shield [the king as Your agent], O God, and look upon the face of Your anointed!  10For a day in Your courts is better than a thousand [anywhere else]; I would rather be a doorkeeper and stand at the threshold in the house of my God than to dwell [at ease] in the tents of wickedness.   11For the Lord God is a Sun and Shield; the Lord bestows [present] grace and favor and [future] glory (honor, splendor, and heavenly bliss)! No good thing will He withhold from those who walk uprightly.  12O Lord of hosts, blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) is the man who trusts in You [leaning and believing on You, committing all and confidently looking to You, and that without fear or misgiving]!

Leave a Reply

