He Made Your Mouth

90 Day challenge- Day 5- Exodus 1:1-Exodus 15:18

Exodus 4:10-12 10And Moses said to the Lord, O Lord, I am not eloquent or a man of words, neither before nor since You have spoken to Your servant; for I am slow of speech and have a heavy and awkward tongue.  11And the Lord said to him, Who has made man’s mouth? Or who makes the dumb, or the deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? Is it not I, the Lord?  12Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and will teach you what you shall say.

Let me set this up for you. Moses was a Hebrew man that was raised in the Pharaoh’s palace (which is a whole other story). Long story short, when he had grown up, he happened to see a Hebrew slave being beaten by an Egyptian overseer. He killed the overseer in an attempt to help the slave, but when Pharaoh found out he wanted to kill him. Moses fled into the desert, met up with a man named Jethro, married his daughter and began to tend to his flocks. One day, when he was out with the sheep minding his own business, Moses saw a bush that seemed to be on fire, yet it wasn’t burning up. The Lord spoke to him and began to outline the plan that He had for him. God told Moses he would lead the children of Israel out of slavery, into the land that had been promised them. Several times throughout the conversation, which can be found in Exodus chapter 3, Moses questioned God appointing him. God says, “You will go before Pharaoh” Moses answers, “Who am I, that I should go.” God says “You will bring the people out and worship Me on this mountain”. Moses says, “What shall I tell the people (paraphrasing)” God spends the rest of the chapter explaining to Moses, not only what he is going to do, but how He will be with them, going before them, and making a way for them. Today’s passage is Moses’ response. 

How often do we feel that God speaks to us to do something, be it small or large, yet we question it? Have you ever felt His still small voice prompting you to speak to someone, or pray for someone, or step out in faith for something, but instead of being obedient, you talk yourself right out of doing it? Maybe that’s just me! Moses tells God, “I don’t know how you can want me to do this, I’m not eloquent, I’m awkward, and I’m just not very comfortable in front of people.” I love how God doesn’t really let him get away with all these excuses. The Lord says, “ Yeah I know, I made your mouth and I know what you’re capable of. Go speak and I will give you the words.” In spite of the fact that Moses wasn’t necessarily the most charismatic of men, the most articulate, the most well-versed, God chose him to be the one to lead the people. Romans 29:11 says 29For God’s gifts and His call are irrevocable. [He never withdraws them when once they are given, and He does not change His mind about those to whom He gives His grace or to whom He sends His call.]

 The call of God that is on your life is not limited by what you feel your abilities are. If He called you (and He has), His ability is on the inside of you enabling you to accomplish that calling. Just like God told Moses, “I’m going to be here with you to help you” He tells you the same thing. Don’t let yourself be limited by the way you see yourself. Remember that He made your mouth, He knows you better than you even know yourself.  Look at yourself the way God sees you, well able to fulfill the destiny He has placed on your life.

Leave a Reply

