Grounded in the Word

Psalm 1:1-2  1BLESSED (HAPPY, fortunate, prosperous, and enviable) is the man who walks and lives not in the counsel of the ungodly [following their advice, their plans and purposes], nor stands [submissive and inactive] in the path where sinners walk, nor sits down [to relax and rest] where the scornful [and the mockers] gather.  2But his delight and desire are in the law of the Lord, and on His law (the precepts, the instructions, the teachings of God) he habitually meditates (ponders and studies) by day and by night.

 I love this verse and have written about it probably more than once, but today I want to focus on the beginning part of verse 2- But his delight and desire are in the law of the Lord….. It is so important for us to delight in the Word of God! If we continue to verse 3 it says 3And he shall be like a tree firmly planted [and tended] by the streams of water, ready to bring forth its fruit in its season; its leaf also shall not fade or wither; and everything he does shall prosper [and come to maturity]. I don’t know about you, but I want to be firmly planted, bringing forth fruit, and have everything I do prosper! Being firmly grounded in the Word is a sure way to help me in every area of life. It guarantees no matter what I may face I can find an answer, a solution, a promise, a source of comfort or strength. Guess what? The same guarantee is there for you. If you will delight yourself in the law of the Lord you will become firmly rooted, and will be better able to overcome adversity in your life.  

Our church is having a 90 day Challenge that will begin next Sunday, May 2 and will end Monday, August 2. What’s the challenge? To read the entire Bible, cover to cover, in 90 days. It may seem like a lot, but it can be done in as little as 30-40 minutes a day. I figure I sometimes watch tv or read a book, so I can set aside three months to read the Word of God more intensively. I believe this will help develop a greater discipline in me. I already do daily Bible reading, but not at this level! I would love to extend the challenge to those of you who read this. Would you like to try to set this goal for yourself and join us? If so, just send me an email and I will send you a daily reading plan.

 As the challenge starts next Sunday, I will also be taking the Daily Inspiration from one of the passages from each day. I hope you will join me as we take this journey together!

2 responses to “Grounded in the Word

  1. wow! i have read thru the bible many times in a year.
    but in three months? way to go!

    great word, liz! i always look forward to these.

    psalm 112:1,2 is one of my favorite promises. if i
    delight in His commands, He will cause my children
    to be mighty in the land. woo hoo!

  2. I would like upates on the 90 day challenge and daily inspiration…the book you sent has helped me tremendously….you brought me out of depression from the ties of a religious spirit that I didn’t even know exsisted….to God be the glory…I thank you for the release of the strong holds and infirmites.!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

