Attracting Others to Jesus

Matthew 9:10-12 10And as Jesus reclined at table in the house, behold, many tax collectors and [especially wicked] sinners came and sat (reclined) with Him and His disciples.  11And when the Pharisees saw this, they said to His disciples, Why does your Master eat with tax collectors and those [preeminently] sinful?   12But when Jesus heard it, He replied, Those who are strong and well (healthy) have no need of a physician, but those who are weak and sick.

Last week we talked a little about Matthew and how, regardless of his position as a tax collector and sinner, Jesus chose him. We also talked about how Matthew answered Jesus’ call. What I want to talk about today is what happened as a result of Matthew being obedient and following Jesus. Verse 10 says 10And as Jesus reclined at table in the house, behold, many tax collectors and [especially wicked] sinners came and sat (reclined) with Him and His disciples. Matthew giving his life to Jesus opened the door to many others having the opportunity to hear the gospel message. Matthew’s answering the call caused those he associated with to give Jesus a chance.

 My husband always says, On the other side of your obedience there is a people group waiting for you. That people group might be your family, your friends, your co-workers, your neighbors….. you never know who might see transformation in your life. For a season in my life, I wasn’t walking with the Lord. I’m not proud of the things I did and the way I acted. It’s so rewarding now though, to talk with people from my past and have them see a difference in me. I’ve had people say, “Wow, you just seem so happy”, or “I can tell you are at peace and loving your life”, or  “You have this glow about you.” I love the fact that it is evident that there is a change in me, and it opens the doors to be able to talk about my Jesus and how much HE has done for me. The more time I spend with God, developing my relationship, the more excited I get about Him, and the more that translates to others. 

What does your people group see in you? Do they see a light that they want a part of? In John 12:32 Jesus said, 32And I, if and when I am lifted up from the earth [on the cross], will draw and attract all men [Gentiles as well as Jews] to Myself. His death was so that we would be drawn to Him, so that we would want to be associated with Him. Our lives should be about that same thing. Drawing others to Him, showing those we come into contact with that He is the source of life, joy, peace and everything that they need. Something that I have been working on personally, is making sure that others continually see something different in me. When I’m at the grocery store, I try to keep a smile on my face, and a kind word for the cashier. When I’m talking to my friends I try to remain positive and keep my words uplifting. When I am talking to my family I am trying to be an encouragement and a blessing.  (Notice I did say tryingJ. There are many days I completely miss the mark, but then there’s always today to try again)

Does your life reflect God’s change? Does your life draw others to Him? Are there areas you could work on to make sure that when people see you, they also see Jesus? I encourage you to examine yourself and make it your mission to bring others to Him!

One response to “Attracting Others to Jesus

  1. Amen Pastor Liz,
    You took the words right out of my mouth! Thanks for sharing and compelling me…

Leave a Reply

