What’s your One Thing?

Mark 10:17-22  17And as He was setting out on His journey, a man ran up and knelt before Him and asked Him, Teacher, [You are [j]essentially and perfectly morally] good, what must I do to inherit eternal life [that is, [l]to partake of eternal salvation in the Messiah’s kingdom]?  18And Jesus said to him, Why do you call Me [essentially and perfectly morally] good? There is no one [essentially and perfectly morally] good–except God alone. 19You know the commandments: Do not kill, do not commit adultery, do not steal, do not bear false witness, do not defraud, honor your father and mother. 20And he replied to Him, Teacher, I have carefully guarded and observed all these and taken care not to violate them from my boyhood.   21And Jesus, looking upon him, loved him, and He said to him, You lack one thing; go and sell all you have and give [the money] to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come [and] accompany Me [walking the same road that I walk].   22At that saying the man’s countenance fell and was gloomy, and he went away grieved and sorrowing, for he was holding great possessions.

This is a passage that always strikes home with me. I have heard it preached in church my whole life, but I heard something a few years back that brought it into perspective and made it personal for me. This young man comes to Jesus asking how to get eternal life. Jesus tells him to keep the commandments, which you see above in verse 19- Do not kill, do not commit adultery, do not steal, do not bear false witness, do not defraud, honor your father and mother.. The young man says,  “Oh that’s easy! I’ve done that all my life.” Imagine how excited he must have been. He was probably thinking, “This is great! I’m in for sure.” Then Jesus throws him a curve ball and says, “Alright then sell everything you have and follow me.” Verse 22 tells us the young man was then sad, and he went away distressed. At first read we might think this passage is about money, but let’s look a little deeper. Jesus wasn’t looking at all of the things the young man was doing, He was looking at the one thing the man couldn’t let go of, his one hang up. If you read this passage, you will understand that Jesus wasn’t trying to hold back anything, and He wasn’t trying to take anything away from the young man. It says in verse 22, And Jesus, looking upon him, loved him. Jesus loved him and wanted to make him His disciple. If he would have agreed he would have spent the rest of his life in fellowship with Jesus Christ, walking in His footsteps. Isn’t it amazing that if the guy had done as Jesus asked he would have been blessed in a far greater way than he ever dreamed, and in a far greater way than anything his money could buy for him? Instead he threw away an opportunity to live the ultimate life God had for him.

For the young man his hang up was money, but each of us have something that can potentially hold us back from walking in the plan God has for us. Each time I read this it makes me examine my heart. I can be doing so many things right, so many things that I am supposed to do, but am I holding on to the one thing that could keep me from fulfilling my destiny? Are you holding on to the one thing that is stopping you from fulfilling yours? If so, let go and begin to follow His plan for your life. The blessing you will receive from following Him will be greater than anything you’re able to achieve on your own.

One response to “What’s your One Thing?

  1. This is very good and encouraging. Thanks

Leave a Reply

