That Your Joy May Be Full

John 15:9-11 9I have loved you, [just] as the Father has loved Me; abide in My love [continue in His love with Me].  10If you keep My commandments [if you continue to obey My instructions], you will abide in My love and live on in it, just as I have obeyed My Father’s commandments and live on in His love.  11I have told you these things, that My joy and delight may be in you, and that your joy and gladness may be of full measure and complete and overflowing.

I remember a song that we used to sing when I was a little girl that is a paraphrase of this passage- It went something like this- This is my commandment that you love one another that your joy may be full. This is my commandment that you love one another that your joy may be full. That your joy may be full, that your joy may be full. This is my commandment that you love one another that your joy may be full. We’ve been talking about joy, so we can’t leave out one of the surest ways to keep the joy of the Lord operating in our lives- living a life of obedience and showing the love of God to others.

I recently read an article that was published in a science journal about a study that was done on the direct proportion of happiness as related to giving to others. It was documented that regardless of how much money people made, those who were givers to others were generally happier than those who spent everything on themselves. Hebrews 20:35 says 35In everything I have pointed out to you [by example] that, by working diligently in this manner, we ought to assist the weak, being mindful of the words of the Lord Jesus, how He Himself said, It is more blessed (makes one happier and more to be envied) to give than to receive. Interesting that a science experiment would back up what the Word of God says!

Being a giver doesn’t only mean money or material things. How about being a giver of your time? A giver of respect? A giver of attention? A giver of love?  When we go out of our way to show God’s love to others, it increases our happiness, our joy. Don’t believe me? I challenge you today to go out of your way to show God’s love to someone in your life. Make it a point to love one another and your joy will be full!

One response to “That Your Joy May Be Full

  1. Tracy Patterson

    Wow!!! That was what I needed! I have been battling with depression the past few weeks, and your message was wonderful. Also we are starting a community outreach program and it kicked off last night, so wow you hit it again with Gods word. Thank you!!! You are a Blessing to me, even though we are miles apart!!! Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

