It’s Not My Problem

1 Peter 5:7   7Casting the whole of your care [all your anxieties, all your worries, all your concerns, once and for all] on Him, for He cares for you affectionately and cares about you watchfully.

 

I know we have talked many times about casting our care upon the Lord, but it is a subject that definitely needs to be revisited often! I thought of the story in Mark 4:36-40 where Jesus was crossing the sea with His disciples-  36And leaving the throng, they took Him with them, [just] as He was, in the boat [in which He was sitting]. And other boats were with Him.  37And a furious storm of wind [of hurricane proportions] arose, and the waves kept beating into the boat, so that it was already becoming filled.  38But He [Himself] was in the stern [of the boat], asleep on the [leather] cushion; and they awoke Him and said to Him, Master, do You not care that we are perishing?   39And He arose and rebuked the wind and said to the sea, Hush now! Be still (muzzled)! And the wind ceased (sank to rest as if exhausted by its beating) and there was [immediately] a great calm (a perfect peacefulness). 40He said to them, Why are you so timid and fearful? How is it that you have no faith (no firmly relying trust. Basically there was a massive storm with hurricane force winds, and the little boat was filling up with water, and the disciples were freaking out. They were probably talking amongst themselves about how they were going to die, how the storm was so bad, what was going to happen to them, etc….. Keep in mind that in the previous chapters these same disciples had witnessed Jesus do amazing miracles, cast out devils and demonstrate His power and authority. However, regardless of the fact that they knew Jesus was the Son of God and could do anything, they were still afraid and woke Jesus up. After Jesus rebuked the wind and got it to calm down, He rebuked the disciples too! He asked them why they had no faith and trust. I’m afraid I probably would have been right there with the disciples, getting rebuked for not trusting.

A few days ago my husband said something to me that really challenged me. I was discussing a situation with him, and he said, “If we believe what the Word says, we don’t even need to talk about this. We need to pray, agree, and believe God that the situation will change.” That stuck with me, and I began to think of how many times I think I am trusting God, but I’m really not. Because if I were I wouldn’t be talking about it, reasoning in my own mind how to fix it, or analyzing why it was the way it was. I would simply say “Here you go God. I don’t know what to do about this, but You do so I trust you to work it out.” And that would be that. If we are truly going to cast our care upon the Lord we must realize that once we give it to Him, we can’t take it back. It becomes His situation to deal with. As I was sitting in my office today pondering a few things, I stopped, prayed and said, “Ok God, I’m giving this to You to work out. It’s not my problem now, it’s yours.” I don’t know how the situation will turn out, but I don’t even care. I’m not going to spend another moment thinking about it. It’s God’s problem now!  What in your life do you need to hand over to God? Are there areas where you need to simply say- “It’s not my problem”? I challenge you today to cast your care upon the Lord. He is ready and willing to take on any problem you might have. So, turn it over to Him today!

Leave a Reply

