Who is I AM to you?

2 Corinthians 9:15 Now thanks be to God for His Gift, [precious] beyond telling [His indescribable, inexpressible, free Gift]!

The beginning of this verse says, Now thanks be to God and that is where we will stay today. I have been meditating on being thankful for the past week or so. I am so grateful, not only for the things God has given me and what He has done for me, but more so just for who He is in my life. In Genesis 46:3 God speaks And He said, I am God…. In Exodus 3:14 And God said to Moses, I AM WHO I AM and WHAT I AM, and I WILL BE WHAT I WILL BE. He continued by saying You shall say this to the Israelites: I AM has sent me to you! Those two little words are enough for me. Because whatever we need Him to be in our lives, I AM is.

In Genesis 15:7 He says I am the [same] Lord, Who brought you out of Ur of the Chaldees, to give thee this land to inherit it. He is a deliverer and the one who prospers us. In Genesis 28:15 He says And behold, I am with you and will keep (watch over you with care, take notice of) you wherever you may go, and I will bring you back to this land; for I will not leave you until I have done all of which I have told you. He is the one who protects us and never leaves us. In Exodus 15:26 we see Him say I will put none of the diseases upon you which I brought upon the Egyptians, for I am the Lord Who heals you. He is our healer. Exodus 22:27 When he cries to Me, I will hear, for I am gracious and merciful. He shows us undeserved kindness, forgiveness and generosity. Exodus 31:13 I am the LORD that doth sanctify you. He makes us holy and puts us in right standing with Him.

I don’t know about you, but I AM has certainly showed up in my life in every single one of these roles at one time or another. How amazing is it that when we need peace, I AM is there to provide the peace that will calm any storm. When we need comfort, I AM is there to wrap us in His arms and bring us the reassurance we need. When we have decisions to make I AM is there to direct our steps. When we need healing in our bodies, I AM is the best doctor out there. When we need a friend, I AM is the One who is closer than a brother. When we need deliverance, I AM is the One who came to destroy every yoke.

I challenge you today to spend some time just reflecting on who I AM is and has been to you. Then with a heart of gratitude thank Him just for being I Am in your life.

Leave a Reply

