The Priceless Privilege of Knowing Him

Philippians 3:7-10 7But whatever former things I had that might have been gains to me, I have come to consider as [one combined] loss for Christ’s sake.   8Yes, furthermore, I count everything as loss compared to the possession of the priceless privilege (the overwhelming preciousness, the surpassing worth, and supreme advantage) of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord and of progressively becoming more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him [of perceiving and recognizing and understanding Him more fully and clearly]. For His sake I have lost everything and consider it all to be mere rubbish (refuse, dregs), in order that I may win (gain) Christ (the Anointed One),  9And that I may [actually] be found and known as in Him, not having any [self-achieved] righteousness that can be called my own, based on my obedience to the Law’s demands (ritualistic uprightness and supposed right standing with God thus acquired), but possessing that [genuine righteousness] which comes through faith in Christ (the Anointed One), the [truly] right standing with God, which comes from God by [saving] faith. 10[For my determined purpose is] that I may know Him [that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His Person more strongly and more clearly], and that I may in that same way come to know the power outflowing from His resurrection [which it exerts over believers], and that I may so share His sufferings as to be continually transformed [in spirit into His likeness even] to His death

This passage is so rich I almost don’t know where to begin, so let’s start at the beginning. Paul says, and I’m paraphrasing, everything in my past before I met Christ doesn’t matter. Remember that Paul was a soldier, and not just any soldier, but the one tasked with making sure all followers of Jesus were put to death. He was a man of power and position. However, after his encounter with Christ on the road to Damascus he was radically converted and served God all the rest of his life. Instead of being the persecutor he became the persecuted. He was imprisoned for a good portion of his life, and escaped being put to death on several occasions before he was eventually martyred for the Gospel’s sake. I love that he never looked back. In fact we see here in verse 8 that he says I have lost everything and consider it all to be nothing but rubbish, because I have gained Christ. 

I think sometimes in our day to day lives it’s easy to forget that it is a privilege to know God. Paul says it the best at the beginning of verse 8 Yes, furthermore, I count everything as loss compared to the possession of the priceless privilege (the overwhelming preciousness, the surpassing worth, and supreme advantage) of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord and of progressively becoming more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him [of perceiving and recognizing and understanding Him more fully and clearly]. Read that again- The overwhelming preciousness, the surpassing worth, and the supreme advantage of knowing Christ Jesus. Oh that’s so beautiful! Just reading this I am reminded how sweet it is to know Jesus, and what a wonderful honor it is to be able to grow more intimate with Him each day. I pray that each of you have a revelation of the joy of being acquainted with our Savior. Take a minute today just to tell Him you love Him and that you consider it a pleasure to spend time in his presence.

2 responses to “The Priceless Privilege of Knowing Him

  1. Teresa Lickliter

    Love this.

  2. To be in possession of this priceless privlege is
    everything. This the internal motivation of the beleiver who loves the Lord. We may have many giftings of the Holy Spirit, but possessing this pricless privilege is truely the ultimate. KNOWING HIM IS EVERYTHING

Leave a Reply

