Well Done Good and Faithful

Matthew 25:23 His master said to him, Well done, you upright (honorable, [admirable) and faithful servant! You have been faithful and trustworthy over a little; I will put you in charge of much. Enter into and share the joy (the delight, the [blessedness) which your master enjoys.

When I used to read this passage it always made me think of the future, the day I would stand before God and account for myself, and hope to hear these words. What I came to realize today is that we don’t have to wait until some far off time to hear “Well done, good and faithful”. Each and every day brings us the opportunity to be told by God that we are doing a good job. One of the things I am trying very hard to achieve is being a complete doer of the Word. Not just parts of it but even the things that aren’t easy to do. Today I encountered several situations where I had to make a choice to obey. I started to speak about 20 different times, and felt the Holy Spirit telling me to not open my mouth. There were things I wanted to do that I didn’t. Things I didn’t necessarily want to do that I did anyways. Even as we were taking our family walk, something popped into my head that I wanted to share with my husband. It wasn’t anything bad, but on the inside I heard, “Just be quiet, don’t say that”. Immediately I wanted to justify to myself why I really needed to talk to him about it, why he could help me understand some things, how he could agree with me in prayer, but I kept hearing, “Don’t say anything. Keep your mouth shut.” So guess what? I kept my mouth shut, and you know what I heard on the inside of me? “Well done, good and faithful servant.” Just those still small words have carried me through the rest of the day. There is no feeling equal to truly knowing you made God happy!

Does it ever seem in the big things you are perfectly willing to be obedient to what God is telling you, but sometimes in the smaller things it is easier to ignore His voice? Part of being a good and faithful servant is, as it says in today’s verse, being faithful and trustworthy over a little. Once God knows He can trust us with the little things, He will begin to give us bigger things to do. The next time you feel prompted to do or say something or not to do or say something, be obedient to what God is speaking to you. Your obedience may not only result in God’s approval but in His promotion!

One response to “Well Done Good and Faithful

  1. Striving to improve on this very thing myself!

    This blog gives me a whole new perspective on obedience being better than sacrifice. Awesome blog, the kind that makes you want to really get things right.

Leave a Reply

