I Will Yet Praise You

Psalm 71:13-15 13Let them be put to shame and consumed who are adversaries to my life; let them be covered with reproach, scorn, and dishonor who seek and require my hurt.  14But I will hope continually, and will praise You yet more and more.  15My mouth shall tell of Your righteous acts and of Your deeds of salvation all the day, for their number is more than I know.
I love the part of this passage that says I will hope continually and will praise You yet more and more“ There are two words I want you to see here- Will, and Yet. The phrase, “I will yet praise You!” has been rolling around in my spirit. Let’s look at what the word Will means- the determination to do something;  with energy and enthusiasm; strength of character; resolve or willpower. Yet also has a few great meanings- Up until now, or a particular time in the past or future; now as opposed to later; and in spite of everything.  This pretty much covers any and every thing, any and every time. David was saying No matter what the circumstances, no matter what the obstacle, no matter what the triumph, no matter what the pain, no matter if it’s in the past, no matter what comes in the future, RIGHT NOW I make the choice, I decide with energy and enthusiasm, I determine to do nothing but praise the Lord. If you know anything about David you know he certainly faced some trying situations in his life. He was mistreated, fought many battles, and was hunted down to be killed, and this was all before he even became the king of Israel. Throughout everything he faced however, he always gave God praise.
In Psalm 9:1-2 David wrote 1I WILL praise You, O Lord, with my whole heart; I will show forth (recount and tell aloud) all Your marvelous works and wonderful deeds!  2I will rejoice in You and be in high spirits; I will sing praise to Your name, O Most High! Not only did he determine to continually give God praise, but he did so with his WHOLE heart. He put everything he had into his praise. I think it’s fitting to point out that he didn’t just walk around oblivious to his circumstances. He was well aware of the trouble that encompassed him on every side. So often in the Psalms he talks about how his enemies are defeating him, and how the situation looks bleak, but he doesn’t stop there. He continues with, I know You will deliver me, I know You are my strength, I know you can help me, and I choose to just praise You and thank You until You show up.
How are you looking at the situations in your life? Are you praising God regardless of whether you are seeing Him move? Make your prayer today, “I will yet praise You!” Give him glory for all of the marvelous things He has done, He will do, and He is doing right now!
One response to “I Will Yet Praise You

  1. Amen, Amen, Amen!

Leave a Reply

