His Grace Is Sufficient

 

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 9But He said to me, My grace (My favor and loving-kindness and mercy) is enough for you [sufficient against any danger and enables you to bear the trouble manfully]; for My strength and power are made perfect (fulfilled and completed) and show themselves most effective in [your] weakness. Therefore, I will all the more gladly glory in my weaknesses and infirmities, that the strength and power of Christ (the Messiah) may rest (yes, may pitch a tent over and dwell) upon me!  10So for the sake of Christ, I am well pleased and take pleasure in infirmities, insults, hardships, persecutions, perplexities and distresses; for when I am weak [in human strength], then am I [truly] strong (able, powerful in divine strength).
Have you ever had a day or week where you just aren’t sure how much more you can take? Where you feel so pressed, distressed and unable to cope? In this passage the Apostle Paul is struggling a little and asks God to please remove the trial from him. God tells Him, “My grace is enough for you”. If we asked Him He would probably tell us the same thing. God’s grace, His ability in us allowing us to do the things we could not do by ourselves, is everything we need to help us overcome. We just have to learn to tap into that grace, to let it be more than enough for us no matter what we are going through.
Recently I encountered a situation that left me feeling a little empty, a little unloved, a little sad, and a little hurt. I heard God ask me, “I thought my grace was enough?” I realized that rather than running to Him to be sufficient for me, I was dwelling on how I felt. I wanted to feel sorry for myself, to have a little pity party. I couldn’t really enjoy it though, because the Holy Spirit kept asking me, “Isn’t my grace sufficient for you?” He kept telling me to get over it and spend some time with Him! It really made me think, If He is enough for me then it doesn’t matter how anyone else treats me, it doesn’t matter what anyone else may say. If I am so fulfilled in Him the opinions and affections of anyone else are just an added bonus.  I’m honestly not sure I am that developed yet, but I’m trying!
In Luke 15 we see the story of the prodigal son. He asked for his inheritance early, went and squandered it all and was at his rock bottom. Sitting in a pen of pigs, and verses 16-17 tell us 16And he would gladly have fed on and filled his belly with the carob pods that the hogs were eating, but [they could not satisfy his hunger and] nobody gave him anything [better].  17Then when he came to himself, he said, How many hired servants of my father have enough food, and [even food] to spare, but I am perishing (dying) here of hunger! What I want you to see is what verse 17 says- He came to himself, or as the message Bible says, He came to his senses- and realized that in his father’s house all his needs were met. How many of us are wallowing in self pity or depression and we simply need to come to our senses and realize that in our Father’s presence we find sufficiency, strength and more than enough of whatever we need? Today be encouraged that no matter what you are facing- His strength, His grace and His love are all that you need. Just go spend a little time with Him and allow Him to be sufficient for you!
Leave a Reply

