Help them grow

Romans 15:1-2  1WE WHO are strong [in our convictions and of robust faith] ought to bear with the failings and the frailties and the tender scruples of the weak; [we ought to help carry the doubts and qualms of others] and not to please ourselves.  2Let each one of us make it a practice to please (make happy) his neighbor for his good and for his true welfare, to edify him [to strengthen him and build him up spiritually].
My husband was teaching last week about the gifts of the spirit when he began to talk about the fruit of the spirit in our lives. He was talking about how the operation of the gifts of the spirit has nothing to do with us and everything to do with God, but the fruit of the spirit is the development in our character. He said each one of us is at a different place in our spiritual development and we can’t look at others and measure where they are at, because they might not have developed like we did in certain areas. Then I read this the other night and it made me stop and check myself. Am I going out of my way to edify others? Am I supporting those who might not be as strong as me? When I encounter others who might not be at the same place as I am spiritually, do I encourage them or am I quick to judge them because of where they are at? Instead of being frustrated with the way other people act, I should figure out how I can build them up.
The first way to edify someone is in prayer. I cannot tell you how many times I have been bothered by either someone’s attitude or actions, but I prayed specifically for them and saw them adjust. I remember a time when I hadn’t prayed for someone, but I mentioned to my husband what a drastic turnaround I had seen in them and he told me he had been praying for them that very day. James 5:16 says …….pray [also] for one another, that you may be healed and restored [to a spiritual tone of mind and heart]. The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available [dynamic in its working].
Another way to lift someone up is to do what it says in Galatians 6:2-3 2Bear (endure, carry) one another’s burdens and troublesome moral faults, and in this way fulfill and observe perfectly the law of Christ (the Messiah) and complete what is lacking [in your obedience to it].  3For if any person thinks himself to be somebody [too important to condescend to shoulder another’s load] when he is nobody [of superiority except in his own estimation], he deceives and deludes and cheats himself.  Some definitions of carry are to take somebody to another place, to move them along, to support a weaker element, or make somebody succeed or endure.  Another is to communicate or convey information, an idea or feeling. When we encounter those that are struggling we should do whatever we can to be an encouragement, to speak words of life, and to find ways to help them grow.
2 responses to “Help them grow

  1. Praise God…………..You are a blessed Woman of God , Our Father, And chosen to deliver this message on the internet,, Praise God, that after years i have trusted God to teach me thru a computer……….Many of which i have throwm in the dumpsters because after many weeks and hours of trying on my own as a single and struggling woman couldn’t afford to fix… Now typing with one hand am excited because i went to sleep in peace the first time in a year listening to and studying the word and worship on the website from you listening to and doing what God, the Father wispered in your heart. I wept and worshipped and prayed till 7:30 a.m. and danced for the Lord, thru the niight and everything was so Quiet for me with Jesus and the Peace of the Son of God in the safety of my home here thanks be to God the Father and my neighbor who is a blessed son of God””””””””””””’………….. I woke up safe and in the arms of Jesus and rested and healing because after being on my knees with Jesus Christ the Holy Son of God the Father, and in our chursh at the alter weeping for my children and my childrens children, i saw my son in the arms of Jesus and felt his peace and the Love of Jesus as he put his arms around us because Pastor Chris is a blessed Man of God and didn’t ask and just was an instrument and man of God That God the Father blesses Daily along with his family, you and your children……..May God the Father, Jesus Christ the Son of God and the Holy Spirit bless you this moment as i speak for taking time out of your life with your family to bless me in the middle of the night with wisdom and praise and worship which is big in my life. If I can’ do something for a sister in the streets after clothing or feeding or praying with and for her I with the help of Jesus Christ the Son of God, the Father and the Holy Spirit can make her smile or feel comfort with a little guitar and a song about Jesus Christ the Son of God, God the Father and the Holy Spirit, who is the Comforter that Jesus The Son of God went to the Father on the cross and was crucified so that i might have life and have it abundantly………….Praise God For evermore…………God bless you today and keep praising the Father God , Jesus Christ The Son of God and the Holy Spirit…………Your sister in Christ

Leave a Reply

