Transforming Your Mind Through the Word

Romans 12:1-2  1I APPEAL to you therefore, brethren, and beg of you in view of [all] the mercies of God, to make a decisive dedication of your bodies [presenting all your members and faculties] as a living sacrifice, holy (devoted, consecrated) and well pleasing to God, which is your reasonable (rational, intelligent) service and spiritual worship.   2Do not be conformed to this world (this age), [fashioned after and adapted to its external, superficial customs], but be transformed (changed) by the [entire] renewal of your mind [by its new ideals and its new attitude], so that you may prove [for yourselves] what is the good and acceptable and perfect will of God, even the thing which is good and acceptable and perfect [in His sight for you].
As we are talking about being led by the Spirit of God, we said the first step is to meditate on the Word. As we spend time mulling over the things we read in the Word of God the result is a transformation in our minds. Or, as verse 2 says be changed by the new ideals and attitudes of your mind. Meditating on the Word will give us a good foundation for transforming our minds, but we have to make a choice to allow the Word to change our thinking. 2 Corinthians 10:5 says…… and we lead every thought and purpose away captive into the obedience of Christ. It is our responsibility to take the thoughts that aren’t of God and reject them. When you know what the Word says, when thoughts come that don’t line up with that Word you will recognize them and immediately be able to not only capture them, but force them into obedience.
For example, let’s say you get up in the morning and read Philippians 4:13 I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who infuses inner strength into me; I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency. As you go about your day, you are continually murmuring this scripture. I have strength for all things in Christ. Christ empowers me. I am ready for anything. I am equal to anything because he strengthens me.  He infuses inner strength into me. I am self-sufficient in His sufficiency. As those words continually come out of your mouth, you are transforming what you think and how you think. When a situation arises that you don’t understand, or don’t feel equipped to handle, instead of freaking out or stressing about it, instead you will look at the situation and say, I’m equal to anything and everything because He is strengthening me even now. When the thoughts come that say you can’t do this so don’t even try, you can immediately captivate them and tell them what the Word says- Christ empowers me so I’m ready to handle anything that comes my way. I encourage you to find a scripture that speaks to your situation, meditate on it all day, and see if the way you were thinking at the beginning of the day isn’t changed by the end. The Word works every time, we just have to do what it says!
Leave a Reply

