Red Light, Green Light

Romans 8:14-16 14For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.  15For [the Spirit which] you have now received [is] not a spirit of slavery to put you once more in bondage to fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption [the Spirit producing sonship] in [the bliss of] which we cry, Abba (Father)! Father!   16The Spirit Himself [thus] testifies together with our own spirit, [assuring us] that we are children of God.

The part of this passage I want to focus on today is the last part of it- The Spirit Himself [thus] testifies together with our own spirit. Many times the Spirit of God is trying to lead us, but we don’t recognize His voice. Maybe we are expecting a giant flashing billboard giving us clear direction, or a “sign”, or a prophetic word, and sometimes that’s what we may get, but for the most part we are led by the still small voice, or “the inward witness”. Brother Kenneth Hagin talks about this in his book, How You Can Be Led By The Spirit Of God.

He tells the story of having a vision of Jesus coming into his room and spending time talking with him. Jesus answered questions, gave him confirmation of something he was not supposed to do, and also something that he was supposed to do. Two times the Lord said to him, “I am never going to lead you like this again. From now on I’m going to lead you by the inward witness.” In the instance of what he was not supposed to do Jesus said, “You had a check in your spirit. You had something on the inside, a ‘check’, a ‘red light’, a ‘stop signal’. It wasn’t even a voice that said, ‘Don’t go’. It was just an inward intuition.” Regarding what he was supposed to do, Jesus said, “The more you thought about it, the better you felt about it. You had a velvety-like feeling in your spirit. That’s the ‘green light’, that’s the ‘go-ahead signal’. That’s the witness of the Spirit to go.”

Perhaps in your life you can remember a time where you either had the “check”, or the “go-ahead” feeling regarding a decision you had to make. Did you go along with it? Did you think, “That’s just me being silly?” What happened when you ignored it? I think of many times where I had this happen to me. One time in particular I was leaving the church and I started to drive home the way I always did. Something inside me told me not to go that way. I started to brush it off and take my usual route, but again I felt that I shouldn’t drive that way. I turned around and went another way home. Now to this day I don’t know why I felt that way. I am not sure if anything would have happened if I had ignored that inward witness, but I am glad I never had to find out. Even if something doesn’t make sense to us, it is always better to follow the leading of the Spirit of God. I will leave you today with something else from Bro. Hagin. Jesus told him, “If you will learn to follow that inward witness, I will make you rich. I will guide you in all the affairs of life, financial as well as spiritual.” He says that rich doesn’t just mean with money, but rather a full supply and abundant provision. If we learn how to be led by the Spirit of God that same promise is for us. He will give us abundant supply and provision in every area of our lives.

Leave a Reply

