Are You Ready?

Mark 13:28-33 28Now learn a lesson from the fig tree: as soon as its branch becomes tender and it puts forth its leaves, you recognize and know that summer is near.29So also, when you see these things happening, you may recognize and know that He is near, at [the very] door.  30Surely I say to you, this generation (the whole multitude of people living at that one time) positively will not perish or pass away before all these things take place.  31Heaven and earth will perish and pass away, but My words will not perish or pass away.   32But of that day or that hour not a [single] person knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.    33Be on your guard [constantly alert], and watch and pray; for you do not know when the time will come.  
I woke up this morning with this scripture in my spirit, and I want to talk about it for a few days. We may not know the day or the hour of the Lord’s return, but are we living our lives as though it was today? What if it were? Would you be ready? Would you truly be ready to stand before God and account for your life? I think back to a conversation my husband had with a dear friend of ours. Chris had been witnessing to him, sharing Christ at every opportunity, and one day just sat down and asked him if he wanted to make a decision to live his life for God. Our friend said, “I don’t know that I really believe what you’re telling me. It works for you, but my life is good.” My husband answered, “but what if, just what if, I happen to be right?” Our friend stopped for a moment and said, “I would be in a whole lot of trouble, but I’m just going to take my chances.” I think of this conversation often. The reply, “I would be in a whole lot of trouble” replays in my mind, and pricks my heart everytime. How many people do we encounter everyday that are just taking their chances, but will one day be in a whole lot of trouble? Last year around Easter we had a special gust speaker at our church. Bill Weise has a best-selling book 23 Minutes in Hell and his testimony is powerful. I encourage you to read his book. While he was speaking he played a video. Several clips in the film had interiews with renowned atheists, at least they were until they had near death experiences. Every one of them said, I didn’t believe in God until I thought I was going to die, but something about being confronted with eternity made me realize that If I was wrong, and there was a God, I wanted to make sure I accepted Him.
How about you? Have you ever made a decision to accept Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior? Or have you walked away from what you used to believe? I’ve been there before too. You need to know-There is a God. He loves you more than you could ever fathom, and He desires to have a relationship with you. There is nothing that you have done, or that you could ever do that could disqualify you from receiving His love. So, what if I am right? I want to give you the opportunity today to receive Jesus. It’s not hard. Just repeat this simple prayer- Jesus, I receive you now, as my Lord and Savior. I  ask that you forgive my sins. Thank you for loving me and taking me into your family. In Jesus name I pray, Amen. If you just prayed this prayer, welcome to the family of God. Send me an email, and I will send you a Bible and information about a great church in your local area. If you are already saved, I encourage you today to share the hope of the Gospel with those you come into contact with.

Leave a Reply

