Pray for those in Authority

1 Timothy 2 :1-3 1FIRST OF all, then, I admonish and urge that petitions, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be offered on behalf of all men,  2For kings and all who are in positions of authority or high responsibility, that [outwardly] we may pass a quiet and undisturbed life [and inwardly] a peaceable one in all godliness and reverence and seriousness in every way.  3For such [praying] is good and right, and [it is] pleasing and acceptable to God our Savior,

I thought this passage was fitting for election day. I got up at the crack of dawn to make sure I voted this morning, knowing that my day won’t end until after the polls close tonight. I got to my polling place about 15 minutes before it opened and stood in line with the other early birds. I was struck by the diversity I saw. There were old people and young people, and even a few children waiting with their mom. I saw Hispanics, African-Americans, Asians, and Caucasians. A policeman walked up in full uniform, there was a teacher in front of me, a stay at home mom was  ahead of her, business-men in suits, a lady in workout clothes. Some people looked ready to start their day, probably heading to Starbucks for the free coffee after voting, others (like me) had just rolled out of bed and run over without makeup or hair fixed or anything. I heard different conversations in the short time I waited- people in support of one candidate or another voicing their opinions to others around them. As different as each person was, they were all joined in one purpose- exercising their freedom to choose our country’s next political leaders.

As I was waiting in line the above scripture came to my mind. As United States citizens we have a right and responsibility to do our civic duty and select our leaders. As believers we have a right and responsibility to pray for those in authority over us. If you read the Chronicles, you will see the story of the Israelite nation. They went through good kings, wicked kings, war, famine, abundance- you name it they walked through it. In 2 Chronicles 7 Solomon has taken over as king. He was a man who feared the Lord and his heart’s desire was to build Him a temple. In verses 12-16 it says  12And the Lord appeared to Solomon by night and said to him: I have heard your prayer and have chosen this place for Myself as a house of sacrifice.  13If I shut up heaven so no rain falls, or if I command locusts to devour the land, or if I send pestilence among My people, 14If My people, who are called by My name, shall humble themselves, pray, seek, crave, and require of necessity My face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven, forgive their sin, and heal their land.  15Now My eyes will be open and My ears attentive to prayer offered in this place.  16For I have chosen and sanctified (set apart for holy use) this house, that My Name may be here forever, and My eyes and My heart will be here perpetually. This shows us no matter what goes on in the world around us, if we will humble ourselves and seek God’s face for our nation, He will hear our prayers, He will forgive us and will heal our land. Today’s scripture tells us that such praying is good and right and pleasing and acceptable to God our Savior. Make a commitment that no matter what your political affiliation that you will join together in a heavenly affiliation and pray for our nation-for our president, for our congressional leaders, and for our authority on a state and local level.

Leave a Reply

