Peace that Doesn’t Make Sense

Psalm 116:1-8 1I LOVE the Lord, because He has heard [and now hears] my voice and my supplications. 2Because He has inclined His ear to me, therefore will I call upon Him as long as I live. 3The cords and sorrows of death were around me, and the terrors of Sheol (the place of the dead) had laid hold of me; I suffered anguish and grief (trouble and sorrow).   4Then called I upon the name of the Lord: O Lord, I beseech You, save my life and deliver me!  5Gracious is the Lord, and [rigidly] righteous; yes, our God is merciful.  6The Lord preserves the simple; I was brought low, and He helped and saved me.  7Return to your rest, O my soul, for the Lord has dealt bountifully with you.8For You have delivered my life from death, my eyes from tears, and my feet from stumbling and falling.

We have all gone through times in our lives that weren’t the best. No matter what we face we can always call upon the name of the Lord. When we put our trust in Him He will deliver us from the worst of circumstances- even from death. I love what David says in verse 7- Return to your rest, O my soul, for the Lord has dealt bountifully with you. Even if things look bleak, our soul can be at peace knowing that our God will take care of us. Isaiah 26:3-4 says 3You will guard him and keep him in perfect and constant peace whose mind [both its inclination and its character] is stayed on You, because he commits himself to You, leans on You, and hopes confidently in You.  4So trust in the Lord (commit yourself to Him, lean on Him, hope confidently in Him) forever; for the Lord God is an everlasting Rock [the Rock of Ages].

When we keep our minds fixed upon the Lord, and our hearts trusting in Him, He will not only help us walk through the circumstances in our lives, but He will enable us to have perfect peace. Phillipians 4:6-7 tells us 6Do not fret or have any anxiety about anything, but in every circumstance and in everything, by prayer and petition (definite requests), with thanksgiving, continue to make your wants known to God.    7And God’s peace [shall be yours, that tranquil state of a soul assured of its salvation through Christ, and so fearing nothing from God and being content with its earthly lot of whatever sort that is, that peace] which transcends all understanding shall garrison and mount guard over your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. The peace that God brings passes all understanding, it may not make any sense. That means when everything is going crazy in your life God’s peace will keep you stable. Those around you might wonder why you don’t seem to be affected by your situation. The peace of God enables you to remain calm in the midst of a storm. Let’s go back to the beginning of Psalm 116- I Love the Lord. Today I challenge you to take a minute to think about God’s goodness, His peace, His love, His provision, everything He has done in your life. Then, like David, tell Him how much you love Him.

Leave a Reply

