Discipline With Love

Proverbs 3:11 11My son, do not despise or shrink from the chastening of the Lord [His correction by punishment or by subjection to suffering or trial]; neither be weary of or impatient about or loathe or abhor His reproof,    12For whom the Lord loves He corrects, even as a father corrects the son in whom he delights.

I am not a father, but I am a mother to three wonderful children. I have a son who is 2 ½ so I have learned a thing or two about correction. I find myself correcting him far more than I did with my oldest girl, and my 1 ½ year old daughter.  I was thinking about it today as I asked my son if He wanted a spanking. My next thought was, “Of course he doesn’t want a spanking, who in their right mind if given the choice would choose to be disciplined?” However, when I bring correction to my children it is only because I love them and want them to be the best they can be. How much more does the Lord love us and want the best for us? Sometimes when He brings correction to us, we may think it’s because He is upset with us, or angry with us, but really He just wants us to be the best we can be. Hebrews 12:5-6 says 5And have you [completely] forgotten the divine word of appeal and encouragement in which you are reasoned with and addressed as sons? My son, do not think lightly or scorn to submit to the correction and discipline of the Lord, nor lose courage and give up and faint when you are reproved or corrected by Him; 6For the Lord corrects and disciplines everyone whom He loves, and He punishes, even scourges, every son whom He accepts and welcomes to His heart and cherishes. We also see in Psalm 94:12 12Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) is the man whom You discipline and instruct, O Lord, and teach out of Your law. Correction is actually a good thing.

I think back to when my oldest daughter was 8 years old. She didn’t tell me the truth about something and so her father and I decided she would be grounded from television for a month. It seemed like an  extreme punishment, but we felt in our hearts like we couldn’t lessen the blow.  I wish I could say that she never lied again, but she did and we again punished her for a month. Since that time though, I have not had any problems with her lying. In fact she is so honest she tells me every little thing that she even thinks she may have done wrong. She is getting ready to be a teenager, and I am so proud for the standard she lives by. I didn’t enjoy the months that she was being disciplined, but the results have been lasting. Each time we have had to correct her for wrong actions, it has just made her more conscious of how she should act in the future. It’s the same way with God. He corrects us, then guides us in the way we should go. Revelations 3:16 says 19Those whom I [dearly and tenderly] love, I tell their faults and convict and convince and reprove and chasten [I discipline and instruct them]. So be enthusiastic and in earnest and burning with zeal and repent [changing your mind and attitude]. Be quick to receive discipline from the Lord. As it says in this verse change your mind and attitude enthusiastically knowing that any correction that is brought is simply because He dearly and tenderly loves and cherishes you.

Leave a Reply

