A Friend Who Never Fails

Hebrews 13:5-6 for He [God] Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let [you] down (relax My hold on you)! [Assuredly not!]    6So we take comfort and are encouraged and confidently and boldly say, The Lord is my Helper; I will not be seized with alarm [I will not fear or dread or be terrified]. What can man do to me?
No matter who may come and go in our lives, isn’t it great to know that there is Someone who will never leave us, never forsake us and will never let us down? Recently I was thinking about friends that I have had in my life. There are those who I thought would be my best friends until the day I died- yet I haven’t spoken to them in 10 or 15 years. In fact even if I wanted to talk to them I couldn’t because I don’t know how to get a hold of them. These are individuals who I shared my deepest secrets with, who were with me in the good times and the bad, who saw me at my best and at my worst. However, in the busyness of life we slowly but surely lost touch and now we aren’t even acquaintances. Then there are those who I thought would be around forever who ended up betraying me, who hurt me and effectively severed any bond of friendship we might have had. (I have forgiven them, but just haven’t renewed the relationship) Then there are friends who I rarely talk to and never see. Yet a couple of these friends are the ones I consider my “best friends”. Time, space and distance will never break our relationship. Even if we don’t talk for a year I can pick up the phone and call and they will be there to listen, to laugh or cry with me, or to give me advice. They will be my forever friends even if our communication isn’t on a day to day basis. No matter how close our friends are to our hearts, they can’t compare with the friendship we have with Jesus.

Proverbs 18:24 tells us there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother. A friend who will never betray our trust, a friend who will stand beside us through thick or thin, a friend who gives us the strength to face each day, knowing we don’t have to go it alone. In Joshua 1 we see Joshua about to lead the people of Israel. His mentor Moses has passed away and it is now his responsibility to be the leader of this nation. The Lord says something to Him that is very powerful in verses 5-6 5No man shall be able to stand before you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will not fail you or forsake you.6Be strong (confident) and of good courage, for you shall cause this people to inherit the land which I swore to their fathers to give them. Today be confident in knowing that your God is a friend that will never fail you. Take a moment and thank Him for always being there for you- in times of trouble, in times of triumph, and every day of your life.

Leave a Reply

