How Do YOU Define Success?

Joshua 1:7-9 7Only you be strong and very courageous, that you may do according to all the law which Moses My servant commanded you. Turn not from it to the right hand or to the left, that you may prosper wherever you go.    8This Book of the Law shall not depart out of your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, that you may observe and do according to all that is written in it. For then you shall make your way prosperous, and then you shall deal wisely and have good success.   9Have not I commanded you? Be strong, vigorous, and very courageous. Be not afraid, neither be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.

This passage came to my mind today as I was pondering what true success really is. I realized it isn’t possible to measure the level of someone else’s success. It is really only possible to examine our own lives and determine whether or not we are a success. Each one of us defines success in a different way. For some success might mean that they have a great job, wonderful family, beautiful home, etc… Others may think it means to be wealthy, powerful or famous because of their achievements.  Still others may feel success is just making it through life, and coming out on the other side of their trials still intact. There are people we probably look at and think they are successful, but they don’t feel the same way about themselves. Today as I was looking back on my life, I asked myself what success means to me. There are a lot of things in my life I am not proud of, and a few things that I truly regret. One of the most often asked questions I get is, “Did you ever think you would be a pastor’s wife?” My answer is always no. There are many people I knew in my past who would probably be surprised too. Not only am I the wife of a pastor, but I now pastor people as well. It is amazing to me that God could use me after the many times I let Him down, but His grace is so awesome. His mercy is just that- something I didn’t deserve, but He gave me anyway.

At the end of my life, I hope to look back and see that the end was better than the beginning. I hope to see my children serving God all the days of their life and raising their children the same way. I hope to see our church- still growing, thriving and equipping people to fulfill their destinies in God. To me that would be the greatest level of success that I could possibly achieve. Today’s passage shows me the way to guarantee that I attain that level of success in my life. If I meditate day and night on the Word, allowing it’s principles to guide me. If I observe and do the Word of the Lord, I will have good success in my life. If your goals line up with the Word, and you spend your life doing what it says, that same success will be evident in your life too.

Leave a Reply

