Tell Him you love Him

Tell Him you love Him

 

Psalm 18:1-3 1I LOVE You fervently and devotedly, O Lord, my Strength.    2The Lord is my Rock, my Fortress, and my Deliverer; my God, my keen and firm Strength in Whom I will trust and take refuge, my Shield, and the Horn of my salvation, my High Tower.   3I will call upon the Lord, Who is to be praised; so shall I be saved from my enemies.

How often do we take the time to tell the Lord how much we love Him? Here David says I love you fervently and devotedly, or passionately and  faithfully with great commitment. He then goes on to tell God everything He is to him. Even God Almighty, although He knows who He is and what He does, likes to be appreciated. I know my husband loves me, and I know my children love me. I know the things I do for them, and I know they are grateful. However, when they stop and take the time to love on me for a minute, it means so much to me. When my husband gives me a hug and says, “Thanks for cooking dinner tonight honey, it was great” I feel appreciated. When my oldest daughter tells me, “Mommy, I love you so much, you’re the best Mom ever!”  I feel such satisfaction knowing she loves and admires me. When my almost three year old little boy grabs me and says, “You my best buddy Mommy, I love you the best”, I feel adored. In fact my little 19 month girl just cuddled up to me and interrupted my typing to kiss me and lay her head on my chest before she got down and started playing again. It’s the moments like these that make my role as wife and mommy so worth it. Would I do the things I do for them if they never said anything to me? Of course, because my love for them is not conditional; but when they go out of their way to express how they feel about me, I want to find even more ways to bless them.

If we never said thank you to our Heavenly Father, if we never told Him we loved Him if we never spoke to Him again, would He continue to bless us? Of course! His love is never-ending, but when we verbalize our love for Him, our dependence and our appreciation for who He is and what He does in our lives, how much more does He want to continue to bless us? Look at all He is to us- our Rock, our Fortress, our Deliverer, our Strength, the One in Whom we can always trust, our Refuge, our Shield, and our Salvation. For all He is and all He does, take a moment today to love Him, to thank Him and to let Him know how grateful you are that He chose you as His own.

Leave a Reply

