Then He knows my path

Then He knows my path

 

Psalm 142:1-5 1I CRY to the Lord with my voice; with my voice to the Lord do I make supplication.   2I pour out my complaint before Him; I tell before Him my trouble.   3When my spirit was overwhelmed and fainted [throwing all its weight] upon me, then You knew my path. In the way where I walk they have hidden a snare for me.   4Look on the right hand [the point of attack] and see; for there is no man who knows me [to appear for me]. Refuge has failed me and I have no way to flee; no man cares for my life or my welfare.   5I cried to You, O Lord; I said, You are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living.

This passage contains one of my favorite scripture verses of all time. Verse three says When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, and fainted throwing all it’s weight upon me, then You knew my path. I have this verse written down because it encourages me. When I am overwhelmed, He knows my path. Overwhelmed has several definitions- it means to overpower someone emotionally, to overcome someone physically, to submerge or cover somebody or something, or to provide somebody with a huge amount of something. Everyone of us is overwhelmed at some point in our lives. Whether it be emotionally, physically, or circumstantially we all have times that we are not sure how we are going to keep our heads above water. The great news for us is that in every situation we go through, He knows our path. You may think, “That’s great that God knows my path, but I wish He would give me a hint about it.” Guess what? He will. In Proverbs 3:5-6 it says 5Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding.  6In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.

The first thing we need to see is that we have to trust Him with our WHOLE heart and mind, not relying on what we think, know or understand. That is sometimes much easier said than done. We say “Okay God I trust You” and then we spend the next hour trying to figure out how He is going to come through for us.  Trusting means we completely put the situation in His hands and then don’t give it another thought except to thank Him for working it out. In our passage David tells the Lord, “My enemies have hidden a snare for me. I look all around me and there is no one who even cares if I live or die, My place of refuge has failed me”. In verse five however, he says “You are my refuge”. No matter how overwhelming the situation, we have to remember what it says in Proverbs 18:10   10The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the [consistently] righteous man [upright and in right standing with God] runs into it and is safe. We have a place of refuge and that is in the presence of the Lord. When we come into His presence, recognizing and acknowledging our dependence on Him, then He can guide us and direct us on the path that He has for our lives.

Leave a Reply

