A Continuous Praise in My Mouth

Psalm 100:1-5 1MAKE A joyful noise to the Lord, all you lands! Serve the Lord with gladness! Come before His presence with singing!  3Know (perceive, recognize, and understand with approval) that the Lord is God! It is He Who has made us, not we ourselves [and we are His]! We are His people and the sheep of His pasture.
  4Enter into His gates with thanksgiving and a thank offering and into His courts with praise! Be thankful and say so to Him, bless and affectionately praise His name!   5For the Lord is good; His mercy and loving-kindness are everlasting, His faithfulness and truth endure to all generations.

Sometimes it’s good just to get into the Psalms. No matter what your mood, situation or circumstance, reading out loud something King David wrote will do wonders. If you’re having a bad day, talking about how good God is will lift your spirits. If you are overwhelmed with your life, hearing yourself say His mercy and loving-kindness are everlasting will calm your soul. If everything is going great in your life, shouting to the rooftops that the Lord is God and we are His people and His faithfulness endures to all generations will take you to another level. David also said in Psalm 34:1 I WILL bless the Lord at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth. He didn’t say I’ll bless Him when I feel like it, and maybe sometimes I’ll praise Him a little bit too. No! He said all times, which means there isn’t a moment that goes by that he didn’t give praise to the Lord. In the good times, the bad, the frustrating, the happy, the worried, the jubilant, the anxious, the excited, the terrifying… you get the point. David’s praise wasn’t affected by how he felt. He constantly kept a praise on his lips and a song in his heart. Throughout the Psalms even when he was in hopeless situations, he still was able to praise the Lord.

You may be thinking, it’s great that I’m supposed to praise the Lord, but how do I even start? Look at verse 1- Make a joyful noise unto the Lord ALL you lands. Sometimes people mistakenly think you have to be a gifted musician or singer to have an effective praise, but this simply says make a joyful noise. I dare you to try it. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Get by yourself- in your room, in your car, wherever you can have a few uninterrupted minutes- then shout Hallelujah! Lord I love You, I praise You, I magnify Your name. You’re great, You’re worthy of my praise, You’re worthy of my worship!

Take a little time to get praise flowing from your mouth. Practicing praising the Lord will enlarge Him in your eyes, and as He is magnified everything else that is holding you back will become a little smaller.

Leave a Reply

